Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “Pinoy Kasi” - Michael L. Tan

Retreat, recharge

By

“Saan ka mag-ho-Holy Week?” a friend asked me the other day, and the linguistics-scientist part of my brain lit up, noting that the literal translation of that phrase would be “Where will you be Holy Week-ing?” A looser translation will mean not just “where” but “what will you be Holy Week-ing?”

Posted: April 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Urgent

By

I am glad to see that both sides of the reproductive health camps see the recent Supreme Court decision as a triumph—the pros jubilant that the law can now be implemented, and the antis happy that several provisions were declared unconstitutional.

Posted: April 11th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

War, peace and valor

By

We tend to think of valor in terms of courage in the battlefield, recognized with medals and rituals and, in the Philippines, an “Araw ng Kagitingan.”

Posted: April 9th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Dwellers, settlers

By

People have been asking how I’m doing after a month in my new job, and I have to say it’s been full of surprises.

Posted: April 4th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Our parents’ children

By

My balikbayan sister visited last January and told me she was thinking of selling her house and retiring to a two-level condo.

Posted: April 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Kulam’ and medicine

By

I’ve written about kulam in many columns, emphasizing how it relates to mistrust. When a serious adverse event happens, we wonder if it might have been caused by kulam.

Posted: March 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Freedom’s names

By

“We are tribeless and all tribes our ours./We are homeless and all homes are ours./We are nameless and all names are ours.”

Posted: March 26th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Reason to celebrate

By

The last time the University of the Philippines topped the bar exams was in 2005. So when the results of the latest exams came out, with UP getting not just the first but also the second, fourth, eighth and tenth places, the College of Law broke out in jubilation.

Posted: March 21st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Digital distractions

By

One helpful piece of advice that I found in several Internet articles: Don’t go to bed with a smartphone or tablet.

Posted: March 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Young gender gaps

By

March is Women’s Month, a good time to reflect on some of the statistics that came out of the 2013 Young Adult Fertility and Sexuality Study (YAFS) conducted by the University of the Philippines Population Institute (UPPI). The survey involved more than 19,000 Filipinos aged 15 to 24, from throughout the Philippines, and some preliminary statistics were released in February.

Posted: March 14th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Breaking traditions

By

Last Friday I wrote about how, sometimes, we might want to appreciate the “pasaway” (defiant) because they can actually be quite creative.

Posted: March 12th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Creative education

By

We tend to associate creativity with artists, often with the assumption that one is born with it. But now there are universities in Europe and the United States that are offering programs—from short seminars to degrees—to help people become creative. The creativity studies are often transdisciplinary in terms of both faculty and students, meaning engineers will get together with managers, natural scientists, artists, or social scientists.

Posted: March 7th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Tens of thousands travel by sea this Holy Week
  • Police: Dad smothered toddler to play video game
  • 7 killed in shooting in China-Vietnam border
  • Chinese trade group to mediate shoe factory strike
  • Malaysia, Australia in deal on black box custody–report
  • Sports

  • Pacquiao shorts in Bradley fight sold for P1.7M in LA auction
  • Ryu pitches Dodgers past Giants
  • Alonso sets the pace in Chinese GP practice
  • Heat seek Three-peat but Spurs, Pacers top seeds
  • Can Spurs get back at Heat? Can they survive West?
  • Lifestyle

  • Levine designs womenswear with help from fiancee
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nobel laureate, dies at 87
  • Ford Mustang turns 50 atop Empire State Building
  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • Entertainment

  • EXO postpones release of mini album ‘Overdose’
  • ‘X-men’ filmmaker slams ‘fabricated’ sex attack claims
  • Singer Chris Brown’s bodyguard on trial in DC
  • Whoopi Goldberg debuts as marijuana columnist
  • ‘X-men’ director accused of sex assault on teen boy
  • Business

  • Italy sells luxury state cars on eBay
  • Asian shares mostly up in quiet trade
  • Dollar up in Asia on US jobs data, Ukraine deal
  • Barbie doll has a problem
  • Oil prices mixed ahead of long Easter weekend
  • Technology

  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Filipinos #PrayForSouthKorea
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • DoH denies Filipino nurse no longer positive for MERS virus
  • WHO warns vs spread of MERS-Cov, urges vigilance in taking precautions
  • Last call for nominations to ’14 Presidential Awards
  • San Francisco business coalition slams proposed tax on sugary drinks
  • A ‘time-travel’ production of ‘Les Miserable’ at Stanford
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement