Friday, October 19, 2018
Close  
  • share this

Justices pretending they are infallible gods

12:06 AM November 17, 2015

MY SYMPATHIES go to Margie Megan Librando whose cousin was sentenced to life imprisonment on the flimsiest of proof (“High court swallowed clearly false evidence,” Opinion, 10/29/15). Indeed, how could the Supreme Court not see through the shallowness of the testimony of a single witness who said one thing and then contradicted himself later?! I would believe that witness like I’d believe I could fly after looking down from the balcony of my 34th floor condo! I’m still around, so clearly I never did!

I had a distant relative who was in a similar bind a long time ago. He was accused of murder. His alibi, no matter how true, didn’t save him. It was politics at its dirtiest and deadliest. It’s pointless to argue about it now, even as the witness against him later admitted he was forced to lie. Alas, a death sentence is so final. Once it’s carried out, you’re a goner.

ADVERTISEMENT

Librando’s cousin, while serving life, still has hope. Librando just has to keep the faith and go on praying. Who knows someday the honorable justices might still have an epiphany and realize what terrible wrong they have done. Or lightning might just strike them dumb and numb! They really are not infallible “gods,” you know, though they seem to enjoy pretending they are!

—MARITES DELA MERCED, mardelamerc@gmail.com

FEATURED STORIES

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: judiciary, nation, news, Supreme Court
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.
business

IFC invests in ‘green’ bonds of China Bank

October 20, 2018 05:09 AM

newsinfo

P1.2M paid for release of kidnap victim

October 20, 2018 05:08 AM

opinion

The worsening of hunger

October 20, 2018 05:08 AM

business

Doubledragon, Myhealth clinics ink deal

October 20, 2018 05:08 AM

opinion

Grave abuse of power by the House

October 20, 2018 05:06 AM



© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.