Close  
  • share this

SSS manual verification takes 3 months

/ 10:09 PM May 07, 2012

This is regarding the complaint of Ma. Antonia V. Yap about the status of her manual verification request filed in 2009. (Inquirer, 3/13/12)

According to our Contributions Accounting Department (CAD), which is responsible in maintaining the contribution records of our members, there were two requests for manual verification of Yap’s contributions, first on Jan. 29, 2009 and the second on April 26, 2011.

ADVERTISEMENT

Based on our records, Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI) through a company representative, made the first request for the manual verification of Yap’s contributions on Jan. 28, 2009, for the years 1985 to 1989.

The result of the manual verification showed that her name was not included in the submitted R-3s or Contribution Collection List of BPI. CAD then requested BPI to submit R-3s wherein Yap’s name was included. However, before BPI could comply with the request, Yap filed her retirement application in November 2009.

FEATURED STORIES
OPINION

On April 26, 2011, Yap requested for the second manual verification of her contributions when she was employed with Prudential Bank and Trust Corp. and BPI.

The second manual verification showed that Yap was not employed by BPI for the years 1985 to 1989. Instead, she worked with Prudential Bank from year 1970 to 1989 and was only employed by BPI in 2006.

The manual verification was completed on Feb. 28, 2012 and the contributions were encoded in our database. Five credited years of service (CYS) were added to her record, thus she now has 39.5 CYS from the previous 34.5.

As such, Yap’s pension will be adjusted from P10,650 to P12,150. She will receive a back payment of P57,150.

For the information of Yap and other members, manual verification takes a minimum of three months since it requires the digging up of records dated several years back.

—MARISSU G. BUGANTE

Vice President

ADVERTISEMENT

Public Affairs and Special Events Division

Social Security System

Read Next
LATEST STORIES
MOST READ
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: letters to the editor, Ma. Antonia V. Yap, Manual verification, opinion, SSS
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.



© Copyright 1997-2019 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.