FLP’s 21 scholars, 10 winners, and 5 fellows | Inquirer Opinion
With Due Respect

FLP’s 21 scholars, 10 winners, and 5 fellows

Though I advised him that I did not campaign or vote for him, the late president Fidel V. Ramos still offered me to be his secretary of justice on June 17, 1992, before he assumed office on June 30, 1992. After I respectfully declined, he changed his offer to a seat in the Supreme Court. And after he named me to the Court, he never spoke or influenced me, in any manner, in the discharge of my duties. Indeed, a gentleman-patriot, he fully respected my independence and probity even when I voted against his known political wishes. More on him in another column.

WITH CHIEF JUSTICE ALEXANDER G. GESMUNDO AS GUEST OF HONOR AND SPEAKER, the Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP) will award cash and plaques on Thursday, Aug. 11, to its new 21 law scholars, 10 winners of its dissertation writing contest, and five “Esmel” fellows taking master of business administration or MBA (or equivalent) major in entrepreneurship, sustainability, management, economics, or business law.


In partnership with the Tan Yan Kee Foundation (TYKF), the FLP will grant P200,000 each to these 10 fourth law year students: Allan Crisostomo (FEU), Cecilia Joahna Laza (St. Louis U), Anton Gabriel Leron (UP), Mary Therese Maurin (UCebu), Louis-Mari Opina (UST), Daverick Angelito Pacumio (UST), Maria Paula Ramos (UCordilleras), Robert Jhon Salazar (FEU), Erielle Sibayan (UCordilleras), and Shalimar Hillary Taongan (DLSU).

And to these 11 third year law students: Shergina Grace Alicando (UCebu), Laine Marie Bringuelo (DLSU), Frances Mickaella Noreen Chavez (UST), Ian Christian Cosido (UCebu), Almira Bianca de Guzman (DLSU), Patrizia Anne Garcia (DLS-Lipa), Shandrei Allen Guevarra (DLSU), Blessie Ngeteg (UCordilleras), Maria Lovelyn Joyce Quebrar (UP), Dana Mae Tadea (FEU), and Kyle Christian Tutor (UP).


They were selected by the FLP board of judges composed of CJ Gesmundo (chairman), former education secretary Dr. Edilberto De Jesus, TYKF vice chairman Harry Tan, Dean Gemy Festin (president of the Philippine Association of Law Schools or PALS), and lawyer Joel Emerson Gregorio (FLP trustee and corporate secretary), members.

Also to be honored and granted cash prizes are the three topnotchers in the last bar exam who were rated “Exemplary:” Stephanie Domingo (UCordilleras), Geremae Mata (USC), and Jani Omamalin (USC) at P100,000 each, as well as those who graduated with Latin honors at P25,000 to P100,000 each.

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE AYALA CORPORATION, the FLP will also award the winners of its dissertation writing contest: First Prize–Patricia Anne Alarios (AdMU) P320,000; Second Prize–Breden Arcayos (USC) P220,000; and three Third Prizes–Brian Pineda (AdMU), Francis Mabutin (UP), Nicole Carreon (USC) at P120,000 each.

Their faculty advisers will receive cash gifts: for First Prize–Prof. Ma. Araceli Habaradas P100,000; Second Prize–Prof. Rashid Pandi P75,000, and three Third Prizes–Prof. Francis Temprosa, Judge Raul Pangalangan, Prof. Noel Felongco at P50,000 each.

The five finalists at P20,000 each are: Monica Elijah Carlos (Angeles U), Edward Emilio (USC), Mikko Al Rashid Ringia (AdMU), Chrisha Ver Romano-Weigel (USC), and George Mariano Soriano (UP).

The winners were chosen by the FLP board of judges composed of Justice Ramon Paul L. Hernando (chairman), lawyer Solomon Hermosura (general counsel, Ayala Corp.), Dean Maria Anna Abad (executive vice president, PALS), Dr. De Jesus, and lawyer Gregorio (members).

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE METRO PACIFIC INVESTMENTS FOUNDATION, the FLP will, starting this year, award five fellowships for students taking MBA (or equivalent) major in what FLP calls “Esmel” courses. Each fellowship is worth P450,000.


The winners are: John Paul Abrina, MD (Asian Institute of Management or AIM), Jacob Barbosa (AIM), Aibar Rabi Rashad Bibi (DLSU), Jella Marice Salarda (UP), and George Martin Samaco III (AIM).

They were chosen by the FLP board of judges chaired by former Bangko Sentral governor Amando M. Tetangco Jr. with the following members, June Cheryl Cabal-Revilla (chief financial officer of the Metro Pacific Investments Corp.), Cezar Consing (former president of Bank of the Philippine Islands and of the Bankers Association of the Philippines), Marilen P. S. Yaptangco (president of Baron Travel Corp.), and lawyer Gregorio.

During the first decade of its existence (2011-2021), the FLP concentrated on its liberty programs. But during the next decade (2021-2031), it will include the prosperity side of its philosophy, starting with the Esmel fellowships.

Its ultimate project for the liberty side is the Center for Liberty and Prosperity which will host an interactive and immersive Museum for Liberty and Prosperity in partnership with the Supreme Court; its ultimate project for the prosperity side is what it calls the “Entrepreneurship Fund” of at least P1 billion aimed at investing in and helping manage micro, small, and medium enterprises, with the active assistance of its Esmel fellows.

Comments to [email protected]


Dynasties, for good or for evil

Rights to worship and to bear arms

Scotus conservatives flex muscles

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: FLP Scholars Society, Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity, With Due Respect
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.