Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Close  
  • share this

Holding up a mirror to our times

05:02 AM September 11, 2017

Watching the superb “A Game of Trolls” last week, I was reminded of the refrain of a Bob Dylan song: “It’s not dark yet, but it’s getting there.”

I marveled again at the Philippine Educational Theater Association (Peta) doing what it does best: holding up a mirror to our times and urging us to look at it. We leave gifted with painful but saving self-knowledge. (How well John Nery achieves the same end in his column, “Dutertismo: New Filipino, or anti-Filipino?” Opinion, 9/5/17.)

ADVERTISEMENT

One might describe the play (“…with which to catch the
conscience of the King”) as a conversation among millennials, on and off the stage. Somehow during the exchange,
hope manages to slip in despite the abominations of Marcos’ martial law.

“It’s not dark yet…” because of hope, although the refrain carries in it a note of resignation not to be found in the recent “Violation of humanity should not be new reality” (Letters, 9/5/17). The spirit of the valiant six who authored it seems closer to the other Dylan (Thomas) often remembered for: “Do not go gentle into that good night… Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

I commend their capacity to take the long view, to prepare for the long haul, something rarely found among those whose future stretches before them. Youth will not be deprived of their brave new world, that’s a hope. They have seen formidable fears conquered, and know that politicians have but brief appearances on stage.

VIRGINIA CALPOTURA, RSCJ, strvirginia@yahoo.com.ph

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: A Game of Trolls, Dutertismo, Inquirer letters, Rodrigo Duterte, Virginia Calpotura
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.
newsinfo

Duterte sees end of communist insurgency in 2019

September 20, 2018 05:28 AM

business

PH market slips to bear territory

September 20, 2018 05:24 AM

business

ABS-CBN hit by data breach

September 20, 2018 05:22 AM

lifestyle

How to cook a superior prime-grade prime rib

September 20, 2018 05:20 AM

opinion

Autumn of the Autocrat, a simulacrum

September 20, 2018 05:20 AM



© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.