Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “Young Blood” - Maria Nicole Cortez

Repetition

By

A typical day in my life operates under a timetable and a routine. It’s monotonous, vapid. And yet, somewhere in the middle of it, I realize that is exactly what makes it beautiful.

Posted: April 24th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

I am not a number

By

The lechon is dripping with succulent fat. I reach for a piece of skin, but before I can take a bite my mother stops me and tells me to scrape all traces of fat off it first. My fingers are oily, and the piece of skin is finally lean and naked. I bite into it.

Posted: April 22nd, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

A principled choice

By

Having studied at the University of the Philippines (UP) does not mean that I am automatically forced to work for the development sector. The university culture may have demanded that I help the country in its development efforts, but it is my personal choice to let UP ideals persuade me into pursuing a career that directly impacts policy.

Posted: April 20th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Lupita’s beauty

By

The speech of Lupita Nyong’o at the Oscars moved the entire audience and the rest of us on the planet who have access to TV and the Internet. The video went viral overnight.

Posted: April 17th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

This is no confession

By

I once resolved that I do not and will not subscribe to labels because they are flawed, misleading, and often disempowering, but today I declare that I am what the patriarchy categorizes as “gay.”

Posted: April 15th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Seeing red

By

No goodbye, just “text me whenever.” That was the ultimate promise my high school friends and I made on graduation day. We have taken different paths filled with new friends and new experiences, yet we still find ourselves back home, always in the same restaurant that our city is known for. The strong aroma of grilled chicken, the old songs sang off-key by the same old, bald man, and the familiar faces of girls I spent half of my life with, somehow bring me comfort. But it doesn’t last very long. The comfort is always replaced by shame and bitterness inching toward my stomach. I don’t finish my food—the first sign that something’s wrong. My horizontally challenged appearance is a dead giveaway that I always finish my food.

Posted: April 13th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Finding the fuel that keeps the fire burning

By

I would often wonder how close I was to being as good as dead. I’d wake up in the morning, check the time, see how early it is, sleep again, wake up again, get up and take a shower, check the time again, and realize, sh-t, I’m late again.

Posted: April 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

No ‘MBA,’ no ‘MPA’

By

MY SIGNIFICANT other sent me a text message: “MBA (Masters in Business Administration, May Backer Ako), MPA (Masters in Public Administration, May Padrino Ako).” The abbreviations are not mere jokes; these reflect our infamous patronage politics.

Posted: April 8th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Students once

By

I am pondering these thoughts while stuck in the “normal” traffic on Edsa on my way home. The MRT is crippled. Working people are all over the busiest avenue in the metropolis; everyone wants to go home after a long day.

Posted: April 8th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

More to life than medicine

By

I entered medical school five years ago, and I am now a postgraduate medical intern in training. I have gone so far; I still have a long odyssey ahead of me. The local board exams loom, and to quote a popular 1990s anthem, “We are the ones who are next in line.”

Posted: April 6th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

So high school

By

For one night I was back in high school. Literally and figuratively.

Posted: April 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Career talk

By

I will soon be moving on to college. Time goes by so fast that I didn’t realize it until representatives of colleges and universities started coming to our school to present what their institutions had to offer. And I knew that this was what the adults had been talking about.

Posted: April 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Afghan hospital guard kills 3 American doctors
  • [VIDEO] No assurances on Janet Lim-Napoles’ bid to become state witness
  • South Sudan president fires long-time army leader
  • Grenade explodes outside MPD Station 1
  • 25 cops ordered relieved over links to drugs
  • Sports

  • Pacquiao can dodge tax issues
  • F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone rejects bribery charges
  • Big Chill freezes Cafe France to arrest skid
  • Pacquiao has to go through PBA Rookie draft
  • Guiao summoned by PBA for name-calling incident
  • Lifestyle

  • Gongs and southern dances star in a workshop at San Francisco Bayanihan Center
  • This woman ate what?
  • Photos explore dynamics of youths’ sexual identity
  • 12th Philippine Food Expo set at the World Trade Center
  • No tourist draw, Malang the croc will remain wild
  • Entertainment

  • Smithsonian wants photos, videos for ‘Day in the Life of Asian Pacific Americans’
  • What Garcia Marquez left behind
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • Sony developing live-action Barbie comedy
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Business

  • Metro Pacific acquires stake in Victorias
  • How ‘one percent’ economic elite was uncovered
  • Facebook profits triple as mobile soars
  • Insular Honors Sales Performers at Testimonial Rites
  • Apple increases stock buyback, will split stock
  • Technology

  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 24, 2014
  • Talking to Janet
  • Respite
  • Bucket list
  • JPII in 1981: walking a tightrope
  • Global Nation

  • Obama to visit Filipino soldiers in Fort Bonifacio
  • Fil-Am youth conferences unite under one theme
  • Embassy advisory: Filipinos still need visas to enter US
  • No travel restriction to Mideast, DFA clarifies
  • PH-HK relations repaired, but families of victims still being courted
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement