Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “Young Blood” - Dara Bascara

Lupita’s beauty

By

The speech of Lupita Nyong’o at the Oscars moved the entire audience and the rest of us on the planet who have access to TV and the Internet. The video went viral overnight.

Posted: April 17th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

This is no confession

By

I once resolved that I do not and will not subscribe to labels because they are flawed, misleading, and often disempowering, but today I declare that I am what the patriarchy categorizes as “gay.”

Posted: April 15th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Seeing red

By

No goodbye, just “text me whenever.” That was the ultimate promise my high school friends and I made on graduation day. We have taken different paths filled with new friends and new experiences, yet we still find ourselves back home, always in the same restaurant that our city is known for. The strong aroma of grilled chicken, the old songs sang off-key by the same old, bald man, and the familiar faces of girls I spent half of my life with, somehow bring me comfort. But it doesn’t last very long. The comfort is always replaced by shame and bitterness inching toward my stomach. I don’t finish my food—the first sign that something’s wrong. My horizontally challenged appearance is a dead giveaway that I always finish my food.

Posted: April 13th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Finding the fuel that keeps the fire burning

By

I would often wonder how close I was to being as good as dead. I’d wake up in the morning, check the time, see how early it is, sleep again, wake up again, get up and take a shower, check the time again, and realize, sh-t, I’m late again.

Posted: April 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

No ‘MBA,’ no ‘MPA’

By

MY SIGNIFICANT other sent me a text message: “MBA (Masters in Business Administration, May Backer Ako), MPA (Masters in Public Administration, May Padrino Ako).” The abbreviations are not mere jokes; these reflect our infamous patronage politics.

Posted: April 8th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Students once

By

I am pondering these thoughts while stuck in the “normal” traffic on Edsa on my way home. The MRT is crippled. Working people are all over the busiest avenue in the metropolis; everyone wants to go home after a long day.

Posted: April 8th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

More to life than medicine

By

I entered medical school five years ago, and I am now a postgraduate medical intern in training. I have gone so far; I still have a long odyssey ahead of me. The local board exams loom, and to quote a popular 1990s anthem, “We are the ones who are next in line.”

Posted: April 6th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

So high school

By

For one night I was back in high school. Literally and figuratively.

Posted: April 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Career talk

By

I will soon be moving on to college. Time goes by so fast that I didn’t realize it until representatives of colleges and universities started coming to our school to present what their institutions had to offer. And I knew that this was what the adults had been talking about.

Posted: April 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

UP students would love to sing ‘Let It Go’

By

There is an urban legend in the University of the Philippines that if you have a picture taken with Oble (the Oblation), you will not graduate on time.

Posted: April 1st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Memory and hereafter

By

I call her “Memory” because that’s all she is now: dead, buried, decaying, almost forgotten. I can barely recall her surname. But I remember the last words she said to me and how she looked on the last day of the only summer she existed in my universe.

Posted: March 30th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Fashion and sacrifice

By

Remark from my good friend: Ail, now you look like a nerd but in the video you were so hot you looked like Eva Fonda.

Posted: March 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • 50 Quezon City cops each carry 30-kg crosses
  • AFP: Abu Sayyaf group, not MILF, target of Basilan operation
  • Massive infra spending set
  • DOJ to NBI: Arrest Cedric Lee, 4 others
  • Metro residents brace for long, ‘dry’ spell
  • Sports

  • Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  • Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  • PSC sets Blu Girls US training
  • Power Pinoys settle for 7th place
  • Successful coaches to get raise
  • Lifestyle

  • Are your favorite malls open this Holy Week break?
  • Celebrate Easter Sunday at Buddha-Bar Manila
  • Moriones feast: A slow, steady transformation
  • Weaving ‘palaspas’ a tradition kept alive in Tayabas City
  • Finalists announced for best translated books
  • Entertainment

  • Why Lucky has not bought an engagement ring for Angel
  • Derek more private with new girlfriend
  • ‘Community’ star happy with return of show’s creator
  • Jealousy is kid stuff
  • Mommy-daughter adventure continues
  • Business

  • PH presses bid to keep rice import controls
  • PSEi continues to gain
  • Number of retrenched workers rose by 42% in ’13
  • PH seen to sustain rise in FDIs
  • Gov’t subsidies to state firms fell in first 2 months
  • Technology

  • Smart phone apps and sites perfect for the Holy Week
  • Tech company: Change passwords or suffer ‘Heartbleed’
  • Filling the digital talent gap
  • SSS to shut down website for Holy Week
  • Another reason to quit social media this Holy Week: your safety
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • First Fil-Am elected to Sierra Madre, Calif. city council
  • UC Irvine cultural night to dramatize clash of values in immigrant family
  • Filipino sweets and info served at UC Berkeley Spring Fest
  • Milpitas, California kids wrap up a successful run of ‘The Wiz’
  • Netizens welcome Japan’s visa-free travel plan
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement