Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “With Due Respect” - Artemio V. Panganiban

Weakened presidency

By

To be sure our people would never again experience the horrors and torments of authoritarian rule, the 1987 Constitution fortified the legislature, empowered the judiciary, institutionalized people power, and weakened the presidency.

Posted: August 17th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

An afternoon at the New Bilibid Prison

By

The most surprising reaction to my column last Sunday, in which I recounted the subhuman conditions of our jails, came from an ex-convict who had served his 20-year sentence. He reminded me of a handwritten note he gave me during my visit as a sitting member of the Supreme Court at the New Bilibid Prison (NBP) in Muntinlupa City over a decade ago.

Posted: August 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Decrepit, congested and subhuman

By

The brouhaha over the transfer of Janet Lim Napoles and Jessica “Gigi” Reyes, who are accused of plunder related to the Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF) scam, to the detention facilities of the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) in Bicutan, Taguig City, brought to public focus the decrepit, congested and subhuman condition of our jails.

Posted: August 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Q and A on DAP decision (2)

By

This is a continuation of the questions raised on the Supreme Court decision on the Disbursement Acceleration Program or DAP taken up in this space last Sunday.

Posted: July 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Q and A on DAP decision

By

I have been peppered with questions on the Supreme Court (SC) decision on the Disbursement Acceleration Program or DAP (Araullo vs Aquino, July 1, 2014). Here are some of them.

Posted: July 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Militants hit SolGen Jardeleza appointment
  • Ateneo names school after Ninoy and Cory Aquino
  • No surprise: Aquino names Jardeleza to SC
  • Be careful about what you say
  • Nora tells QC students: I used to scour dump for ‘tingga’
  • Sports

  • Eagles repeat over Warriors
  • Leading Red Lions, Chiefs roll back NCAA rivals
  • Can Gilas Pilipinas really go to war?
  • Castro hurts ankle, may miss W Cup
  • Cone PBAPC coach of year awardee
  • Lifestyle

  • Chilling spree: Tracing the roots of the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge
  • Fil-Am transgender model talks paranoia, coming out
  • Depression, the loneliest place to be
  • “Share a Coke” Philippines
  • Stylish hosts let the table talk
  • Entertainment

  • As cohosts, Mariel and Robin keep it professional
  • Sentimental rock star remembers mom, his idol
  • What makes a hero?
  • Agents of Ambush, August 21, 2014
  • Tuldok, August 21, 2014
  • Business

  • Asian shares edge higher ahead of US Fed chief’s speech
  • PSEi hits new high for 2014 at 7,096.49 despite ‘ghost month’
  • Century Properties Group sets pricing for multi-year retail bond offering
  • Philippines has lowest FDI among Asean members
  • BPI Family Bank to pioneer auto loan securitization
  • Technology

  • Makeup transformation craze getting creative, appalling
  • SC issues one-line tweet to welcome Jardeleza; others wary of new SC justice
  • Hacker targets info on MH370 probe
  • Mind your brand voice
  • The top 10 books on Apple’s iBooks
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, August 21, 2014
  • The blame game
  • Ninoy Aquino’s assassination
  • Walk far, wear ‘tsinelas’
  • Zero-based bureaucracy
  • Global Nation

  • Italian envoy pleads not guilty to child abuse, trafficking raps
  • Want to marry a Filipina? Bill seeks additional requirements on foreign boyfriends
  • PH sends ship to Australian war games
  • Wanted Iranian dies in NBI custody
  • DFA hits harassment of PH fishers by Chinese
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement