Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “There’s The Rub” - Conrado de Quiros

Madness in the method

By

The UNA, says JV Ejercito, is perfectly willing to coalesce with the LP-NP-NPC, and there’s no reason why it shouldn’t. “It will be ideal since there is no clear-cut line between the opposition and the administration, not like the way things were during Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo’s time in 2007.” Such a super coalition would be good for P-Noy, allowing him to control Congress and push his legislative agenda virtually unopposed.

Posted: July 19th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Still, leave it to the artists

By

“Id I had the choice,” says Edgardo Angara, chair of the Senate education committee and board member of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, “I would have given the title to Dolphy while he was still alive, if only to show appreciation for the unique talent he possessed. Dolphy is really more than deserving of the National Artist award…. What he did was an extraordinary thing—making the entire Filipino people laugh.”

Posted: July 17th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Not in my name

By

I actually thought twice before deciding to respond to Rolly Pelinggon Jr.’s response to my column, “Crimes of the mind.” Pelinggon’s response comes in the form of a paid ad in the Inquirer (7/11/12) that covers nearly the entire page. I thought twice about responding to it not just because the writing is pedantic, the style of politicians and lawyers who imagine (alas, wrongly) that the more convoluted they are the more profound they sound, but because the reasoning is self-defeating. It’s a good example of how to refute yourself.

Posted: July 17th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

In passing

By

I had written my last column for last week before Dolphy crossed over to the great beyond. The days that followed were devoted to mourning his death and celebrating his life in equal measure. The outpouring of grief and love has been overwhelming and warms the heart. I cannot let his passing go without saying something, if only in passing.

Posted: July 16th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Big things

By

Talk about looking at things from a broader perspective, you can’t get any broader than by doing so from the perspective of the universe. Which the discovery of the Higgs boson, or the so-called “God particle,” forces you to do.

Posted: July 12th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Trapo’

By

I knew next year’s election would be more traditional than the last. The 2010 election was not the rule but the exception. It was one of those rare times when this country voted on the basis of principle rather than personality, on the basis of belief rather than cynicism.

Posted: July 11th, 2012 in Columnists,Inquirer Opinion,Letters to the Editor | Read More »

Next victim

By

I knew things were bad, I just didn’t know how bad. Last Thursday’s news brought it home to me. On that day alone, 36 road accidents took place in Metro Manila. Some of them producing tragic results.

Posted: July 10th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

A plague on both your houses

By

The Liberal Party must be desperate, says Erap Estrada. Proof of it is that it’s trying to pirate some UNA members. “That only shows they cannot complete their lineup.”

Posted: July 8th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Extensions

By

Abigail Valte gave a preview of P-Noy’s Sona later this month. Government has done much over the last two years. Its biggest accomplishment has been to change the mindset of the people. “Our countrymen are now more engaged not just online but we can already see this in several levels of engagement, which shows that [...]

Posted: July 4th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Search for justice

By

Frank Chavez had a most interesting reaction to Antonio Carpio’s bid to become chief justice. Carpio had earlier vowed to introduce much needed reforms into the judiciary if he should become so. “Too late the hero,” says Chavez. “Carpio has not contributed to the realization of the reforms he is proposing now. Eleven years wasted. [...]

Posted: July 3rd, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Milestones

By

I was about to say let’s take time out to mourn the deaths of artists, but came to my senses just in time. It made me wonder what had happened to me taking politics to be the more serious preoccupation, and art, well, something to take time out for. Art is in fact the more serious thing. The deaths of artists are a cause for the world to stop, the deaths of politicians are a cause for the world only to bring out the champagne.

Posted: July 2nd, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Grand restoration

By

The interesting thing about Koko Pimentel finally dropping out of UNA is not that he did. That was pretty much a foregone conclusion after he made his disaffection, or indeed plain disgust, at having to run with the one person who stole four years of his term known to the world. Or specifically known to his godfather, literal and political, Joseph Estrada, with whom he finally met last week after avoiding him for some time. Under no circumstances would he run with Miguel Zubiri, he said, and he was true to his word.

Posted: July 2nd, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • 43 out of 414 Etihad passengers yet to be found, tested for MERS-CoV – Palace
  • Maid confesses in killing of 2 and stabbing of employer in Laguna
  • N. Korea finally offers condolences over ferry tragedy
  • 16 CADPI sugar refinery workers now out of danger after toxic shower in Batangas
  • PNP denies Purisima’s involvement in questionable deal with courier firm
  • Sports

  • UP nips St. Benilde; Adamson blasts RTU in Filoil women’s caging
  • Kevin Garnett responds to Raptors’ GM F word
  • Albert Pujols hits 500th HR of major league career
  • UST posts twin kill in Filoil pre-season cup opening day
  • Wizards beat Bulls in OT to take 2-0 series lead
  • Lifestyle

  • Entering the monkhood a rite of passage
  • Haneda International Airport: A destination on its own
  • Wanted: Beauty queen with a heart that beats for the environment
  • Kim Atienza: At home with art and design
  • Life lessons I want to teach my son
  • Entertainment

  • Bollywood Oscars, film stars come to Florida
  • Ex-Fox exec denies allegations in sex abuse suit
  • Kris Aquino backtracks, says Herbert Bautista and her are ‘best friends’
  • Summer preview: Chris Pratt enters a new ‘Galaxy’
  • Bon Jovi helps open low-income housing in US
  • Business

  • SM to rebuild Tacloban hospital
  • PSEi slips after 4-day rally
  • Toyota sells 2.58 million vehicles, outselling GM
  • McDonald’s 1Q profit slips as US sales decline
  • SEC approves SM’s P15B retail bond offer
  • Technology

  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Engineers create a world of difference
  • Bam Aquino becomes Master Splinter’s son after Wiki hack
  • Mark Caguioa lambasts Ginebra teammates on Twitter
  • Opinion

  • One-dimensional diplomacy: A cost-benefit analysis of Manila’s security deal with Washington
  • No ordinary illness
  • Reforest mountains with fire trees and their kind
  • Day of the Earth
  • When will Chinese firm deliver new coaches?
  • Global Nation

  • Filipinos coming home from Mideast must obtain MERS clearance – DOH
  • US Secret Service in Manila ahead of Obama visit
  • Palace thanks Estrada for successful HK mission
  • Hong Kong accepts PH apology; sanctions also lifted
  • China won’t budge, wants PH gov’t to apologize to HK
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement