Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “High blood” - Renato N. Carvajal

Lessons from Mang Felix

By

I am very lucky to have known Mang Felix, from whom I learned life’s most enduring lessons. Mang Felix lost his father when he was five, then lost all his siblings shortly after. His mother became blind years later. He worked in the farm. Through sheer determination he finished his freshman year in college, and then he got married and raised a family of nine.

Posted: April 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

When the euphoria fades

By

Each March, particularly on the bar exam results day (BERD), I relive the ecstatic moments in 1970 when I learned that I had made it.

Posted: April 14th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Enjoy the sunset

By

Retirement means different things to different people. To some, it means enjoying the free time on their hands to do the things they could not do when they were tied to a regular job, and to others, it means boredom because they have too much time and lesser work to keep them occupied.

Posted: March 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

My American father

By

I was born in Larap, a dusty mining town in Camarines Norte, in 1938; the name has since been changed from Larap to Jose Panganiban. My father worked in a mining company, possibly the defunct Philippine Iron Mines—the only one operating in Larap at that time, according to someone at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources’ Mines and Geosciences Bureau in Daraga, Albay—which belonged to an American company called Luzon Stevedoring (Lusteveco). Later, my father became a skipper in one of its tugboats named Narwal, and he died in Bongabon, Mindoro, while the boat was docked there. Lusteveco ceased operations sometime in 1986.

Posted: March 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

UP Prep in my mind

By

We met for what might be the last grand reunion of the Prepians, the name proudly carried by graduates of the University of the Philippines Preparatory School, effusively dubbed “the best high school.”

Posted: March 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Another kind of love letter

By

I wrote this letter to a nephew in response to a message he left on Facebook for me. After writing and reading it, I noticed that its message of love is applicable to almost everyone. So I decided to submit it for publication. I know that many sons don’t give love to their mothers, are often short with their mothers, forgetting how their mothers loved and cherished them from birth to adulthood.

Posted: February 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The voice of a cicada

By

On some deserts and beaches around the world, dry sand will sometimes make a singing, squeaking, or whistling sound as wind passes over the dunes.

Posted: February 9th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Letter from Dad: Dare to take risks

By

I’m writing to you at this time in the hope that by now you’ve settled down from the hustle and bustle of gift giving and home decorating during the holidays.

Posted: January 21st, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Leave a trail: where we’ve gone, what we did

By

Not all children are young. One fine day, I found myself playing in the garden with children who are not my age, who are really young, moved by nothing but the gushing of the river of life in their veins.

Posted: December 26th, 2013 in Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Lament for the vanished tradition of caroling

By

I used to be one of those mischievous little brats dotting the streets so many Christmases ago to engage in that wonderful nocturnal Yuletide pastime called caroling. Each night was a separate adventure, and each night brought renewed vigor and excitement.

Posted: December 22nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The ‘happy box’

By

In the late 1970s, travelling Filipinos used discarded cartons instead of suitcases as their luggage.

Posted: December 6th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

I don’t believe in ghosts, but…

By

I don’t believe in ghosts. Do you? Well, let me tell you a story. Years ago I lived in this building where I live now, only on a lower floor. My home then was in another country, so I occupied that unit only occasionally. My son lived in Canlubang with his small family.

Posted: October 31st, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Retired SC justice Lorenzo Relova; 98
  • Ligots fight 2nd forfeiture case
  • PH will be partly cloudy in afternoon, evening—Pagasa
  • Ex-COA chief nabbed for plunder
  • John Paul relics abound: Bloodied shirt, unwashed fork…
  • Sports

  • Sharapova advances to Stuttgart quarterfinals
  • Galedo caps ride of redemption
  • Beermen, Express dispute second semis slot today
  • Lady Agilas upset Lady Bulldogs in four sets
  • NLEX roars to 7th D-League win
  • Lifestyle

  • ‘Recovered’ Banksy works on display ahead of sale
  • Marinduque: Visiting the ‘palm of the ocean’
  • First at Vatican in 60 years
  • How Jing Monis Salon gave Krissy the pixie
  • Want to be a supermodel? Work on your inner beauty, says Joey Espino
  • Entertainment

  • Kristoffer Martin: from thug to gay teen
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Cris Villonco on play adapted from different medium
  • OMB exec’s assurance: We work 24/7
  • Business

  • PAL hailed for ban on shark fin cargo
  • BSP to change tint of P100 bill
  • Nielsen sees car buying boom in the Philippines
  • How author of best-seller exposed ‘one percent’ economic elite
  • Bangko Sentral readies new bank lending rules
  • Technology

  • Cloud strength helps Microsoft earnings top Street
  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, April 25, 2014
  • No deal, Janet
  • Like making Al Capone a witness vs his gang
  • MERS-CoV and mothers
  • A graduation story
  • Global Nation

  • Only 4 Etihad passengers not accounted for
  • Abandoned in Malta,15 PH seamen return
  • Senator hopes PH will also get same vow
  • HK victims to get P115M; traders raised money
  • Afghan hospital guard kills 3 US doctors, including Fil-Am pediatrician
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement