Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “High blood” - Nicolas G. Maderazo

When the euphoria fades

By

Each March, particularly on the bar exam results day (BERD), I relive the ecstatic moments in 1970 when I learned that I had made it.

Posted: April 14th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Enjoy the sunset

By

Retirement means different things to different people. To some, it means enjoying the free time on their hands to do the things they could not do when they were tied to a regular job, and to others, it means boredom because they have too much time and lesser work to keep them occupied.

Posted: March 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

My American father

By

I was born in Larap, a dusty mining town in Camarines Norte, in 1938; the name has since been changed from Larap to Jose Panganiban. My father worked in a mining company, possibly the defunct Philippine Iron Mines—the only one operating in Larap at that time, according to someone at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources’ Mines and Geosciences Bureau in Daraga, Albay—which belonged to an American company called Luzon Stevedoring (Lusteveco). Later, my father became a skipper in one of its tugboats named Narwal, and he died in Bongabon, Mindoro, while the boat was docked there. Lusteveco ceased operations sometime in 1986.

Posted: March 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

UP Prep in my mind

By

We met for what might be the last grand reunion of the Prepians, the name proudly carried by graduates of the University of the Philippines Preparatory School, effusively dubbed “the best high school.”

Posted: March 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Another kind of love letter

By

I wrote this letter to a nephew in response to a message he left on Facebook for me. After writing and reading it, I noticed that its message of love is applicable to almost everyone. So I decided to submit it for publication. I know that many sons don’t give love to their mothers, are often short with their mothers, forgetting how their mothers loved and cherished them from birth to adulthood.

Posted: February 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The voice of a cicada

By

On some deserts and beaches around the world, dry sand will sometimes make a singing, squeaking, or whistling sound as wind passes over the dunes.

Posted: February 9th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Letter from Dad: Dare to take risks

By

I’m writing to you at this time in the hope that by now you’ve settled down from the hustle and bustle of gift giving and home decorating during the holidays.

Posted: January 21st, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Leave a trail: where we’ve gone, what we did

By

Not all children are young. One fine day, I found myself playing in the garden with children who are not my age, who are really young, moved by nothing but the gushing of the river of life in their veins.

Posted: December 26th, 2013 in Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Lament for the vanished tradition of caroling

By

I used to be one of those mischievous little brats dotting the streets so many Christmases ago to engage in that wonderful nocturnal Yuletide pastime called caroling. Each night was a separate adventure, and each night brought renewed vigor and excitement.

Posted: December 22nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The ‘happy box’

By

In the late 1970s, travelling Filipinos used discarded cartons instead of suitcases as their luggage.

Posted: December 6th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

I don’t believe in ghosts, but…

By

I don’t believe in ghosts. Do you? Well, let me tell you a story. Years ago I lived in this building where I live now, only on a lower floor. My home then was in another country, so I occupied that unit only occasionally. My son lived in Canlubang with his small family.

Posted: October 31st, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Ups and downs in public service

By

As I write this I will be bowing out of public service in a few days. It was such a servitude, with ups and downs; working in the government is not at all rosy, especially if one is not in the higher levels.

Posted: October 20th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Tagle: Christ’s resurrection a message of hope to faithful
  • Aquino vows to intensify anti-corruption drive further
  • Unease in Vatican over cardinal’s luxury flat—report
  • Nepal calls off search for missing guides on Everest—official
  • Pope’s Easter Message ‘Urbi et Orbi’
  • Sports

  • Rain or Shine grabs No.4, sends Ginebra to 8th
  • Red-hot Alaska rips injury-depleted San Mig Coffee
  • Pacquiao courtesy call to Aquino set for Monday
  • Nick Calathes suspension a reminder of supplement risk
  • Teague scores 28 as Hawks soar past Pacers in Game 1
  • Lifestyle

  • Angono petroglyphs in danger of disappearing
  • Britain’s baby Prince George visits Australian zoo
  • Noli Yamsuan, Cardinal Sin’s ‘official’ photographer: ‘I could smell the aftershave lotion of the Pope’
  • Simplifying and lightening life
  • Where to go for Easter night-out
  • Entertainment

  • Show-biz celebrities’ other choices of summer getaway
  • Why ‘Noah’ can’t dock his ark at Philippine theaters
  • Acclaimed artist goes wild while on holiday
  • Believing in this mermaid
  • Missing Xian
  • Business

  • Top-selling insurance agent opens her dream café
  • Connecting and transacting with one another
  • Building wealth for health
  • Why Mandaue Foam buys, rather than rents, space
  • A workplace of new possibilities
  • Technology

  • Nasa’s moon-orbiting robot crashes down
  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Opinion

  • Epiphany
  • Unpaid creditor vs distressed debtor
  • Moving on
  • From culinary desert to paradise
  • Response to China: ‘Usjaphil’
  • Global Nation

  • Tim Tebow’s charity hospital in Davao seen to open in 7 months
  • OFW died of Mers-CoV in Saudi Arabia, says family
  • Aquino, Obama to tackle US pivot to Asia during state visit
  • Asia seeks Obama’s assurance in territorial spats
  • Cesar Chavez movie sparks memories of Fil-Am labor leaders
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement