Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “High blood” - Violy Peralta-Hughes

The ‘memory palace’

By

The article “For brain fitness, go to a brain gym” (Lifestyle, 6/10/14) struck a chord because it reminded me of a book, “Moonwalking with Einstein” by Joshua Foer, that I read a few months ago.

Posted: July 21st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Walks of life

By

Walking for one hour every morning has been part of my regimen since my open-heart coronary artery bypass surgery in 2007.

Posted: July 7th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Still teaching 24/7

By

I never thought ageism—defined as “prejudice or discrimination against a particular age group, especially the elderly”—would hit me.

Posted: June 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Being Filipino in Honolulu

By

I was not given the traditional Hawaiian lei when I set foot for the first time at the Honolulu International Airport late in August 2006, but I brightened up when I heard the taxi driver, speaking in a familiar accent, asking me where I came from.

Posted: June 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Back to the altar

By

Every young girl dreams of an elegant wedding. She considers her wedding to be a very significant milestone in her life because it may be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. I, too, dreamt of an elegant wedding.

Posted: May 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Abad appears in Senate with Cabinet execs in tow
  • Budget chief Butch Abad faces Senate probe on DAP
  • Rainy Thursday for PH as southwest monsoon persists
  • Crash kills US teen pilot seeking world record
  • Court upholds dismissal of state prosecutor behind Garcia plea bargain
  • Sports

  • PLDT refunds tickets; MVP apologizes
  • Eagles alone on top at 3-0
  • Chiefs grab 2nd; Bombers score
  • Petron volleybelles clinch 5th over Cagayan
  • Army tackles Shakey’s V-League champion Cagayan
  • Lifestyle

  • 30 women vie for 2014 Mutya title
  • We will miss The Tivoli
  • Bidding goodbye–with a nine-course degustation dinner
  • Tour takes one on the science and art of food
  • A taste of Albay: ‘Tinutungan na manok,’ toasted ‘siopao,’ chili ice cream
  • Entertainment

  • Claudine Barretto’s lawyer on Raymart Santiago: ‘Defensive much?’
  • Wahlburgers’ premieres tonight
  • And then there were four
  • Agents of Ambush, July 24, 2014
  • Tuldok, July 24, 2014
  • Business

  • S&P 500 at new record on Apple earnings; Dow drops
  • New team seen curbing corruption
  • 500,000-ton hike in rice imports set
  • Metrobank completes P6.5B IOU issuance
  • P1.52B deal turns Sinophil into key gaming firm
  • Technology

  • China deletes Web reports on blow-up giant toad
  • Get paid for posting? Social networking’s new twist
  • Home Stand game cancellation triggers online fury
  • Google made failed bid for Spotify—report
  • US agency goes off topic, tweets about Kim Kardashian
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, July 24, 2014
  • The disappointed
  • Mad about the DAP
  • For what?
  • ‘Raining humans’
  • Global Nation

  • Fil-Am is behind Kwoller, the price-tracking mobile app for shoppers
  • Young Fil-Am leaders in PH for ‘immersion’
  • Expats from Haiyan-ravaged Palompon meet in Niagara Falls
  • No charges filed against Aussie jihadist
  • POEA exempts some OFWs from deployment ban in Libya
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement