Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “High blood” - Danilo G. Mendiola

December on my mind

By

Now that All Saints’ Day or “Undas” is over and done with, I turn my thoughts to December, the 12th and last month of the year.

Posted: November 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

From books to eternity

By

One fine day in June 2009, at about 3 p.m., Reggie and I were getting dressed to go malling. The past two months we had made it a regular feature of our recovery program—he from a triple bypass operation at the Philippine Heart Center, me from a low anterior resection at the Capitol Medical Center.

Posted: November 1st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Remembering the old ‘La Naval’

By

To me, October invariably brings memories of “La Naval de Manila”—a novena and procession celebrated to honor Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary at Santo Domingo Church. I’m not referring to the one in Quezon City but to the old Gothic Santo Domingo in Intramuros that was destroyed during the Liberation of Manila in 1945.

Posted: October 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The irony of old age

By

Having breached my 60s and salad days, and, “like an island surrounded by death,” I find that my ultimate goal now is to be remembered beyond my lifetime. As the Jewish saying goes, “The only dead are those who have been forgotten.”

Posted: September 26th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Single-mom shampoo

By

Having worked in an ad agency starting in the late 1980s to the early 1990s, I remember when the competitive edge in ad copy was to be able to convince clients of what was better-tasting in food, what was more effective as dirt remover and better-scented in bath or laundry soaps, or which brand of shampoo was a more effective dandruff remover and hair softener. Cost or affordability was also a main selling point.

Posted: September 13th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Under pressure, Hagel steps down as US defense chief
  • Ona in trouble over use of malaria-dengue drug
  • Santiago slams P37B pork
  • Tuguegarao folk rue spate of killings
  • Jennifer’s family, supporters launch campaign for justice
  • Sports

  • Pacquiao returns to a hero’s welcome in GenSan
  • La Salle thumps FEU, sweeps its way to PCCL Finals
  • PCCL: NCAA titlist San Beda ousts UAAP champ NU
  • Golden State silence Thunder
  • Blazers beat Celtics for 7th straight win
  • Lifestyle

  • Tennis fever rising in Manila
  • How Dolphy lost his battle with COPD
  • Filipino artist’s illustration chosen as cover of bestselling children’s book
  • Is the Kama Sutra indecent?
  • Brain chemicals and how they influence our behavior
  • Entertainment

  • The ever-changing look of Lani Misalucha
  • To be happy on her own
  • Uppers, downers in 2014
  • Katy Perry confirmed as Super Bowl halftime singer
  • One Direction, Katy Perry win big at American Music Awards
  • Business

  • Customs collections up 22.6% to P34.16B
  • ‘Ayala still supports PPP program’
  • DFA chief is management awardee
  • More public offerings
  • Robinsons Land expands its network of Go Hotels
  • Technology

  • WD® launches wireless portable storage drive
  • The rise of the hybrid PR
  • Kidnappers scanning social networks for potential victims – PNP
  • Netizens cheer Pacquiao win, tell Mayweather ‘you’re next’
  • Facebook ‘newspaper’ spells trouble for media
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, November 25, 2014
  • Editorial cartoon, November 24, 2014
  • Justice as tragedy
  • PH has slowest justice system in the world
  • Random thoughts
  • Global Nation

  • BI to lift ban on HK journalists
  • DOJ asks Batanes court to arrest Coast Guard official
  • DFA to verify reports China building airstrip, naval base on disputed reef
  • Senate ready to hold ‘full-blown’ debate on Edca
  • PH reviews blacklisting of Hong Kong journalists
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement