Quantcast
Home » column You are browsing column “High blood” - Lourdes Syquia-Bautista

Remembering a day from the distant past

By

I don’t know exactly how it happened, but by some strange alchemy, time and distance were spanned, and I was once again a child of seven living with my parents, siblings, aunts and uncles and grandfather under one roof (Chinese-style) in our huge house in Binondo. And seated beside my mother at breakfast, watching my Tia Mercedes, across from us, dunking her churros into a small cup of thick chocolate and hearing her voice addressing my mother: “Que dices, Ching?” (Mamang’s name was Consolacion, but her nickname was Ching) “Vamos a llevar estas criades esta tarde al Jardin Botanico?”

Posted: July 26th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The ‘memory palace’

By

The article “For brain fitness, go to a brain gym” (Lifestyle, 6/10/14) struck a chord because it reminded me of a book, “Moonwalking with Einstein” by Joshua Foer, that I read a few months ago.

Posted: July 21st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Walks of life

By

Walking for one hour every morning has been part of my regimen since my open-heart coronary artery bypass surgery in 2007.

Posted: July 7th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Still teaching 24/7

By

I never thought ageism—defined as “prejudice or discrimination against a particular age group, especially the elderly”—would hit me.

Posted: June 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Being Filipino in Honolulu

By

I was not given the traditional Hawaiian lei when I set foot for the first time at the Honolulu International Airport late in August 2006, but I brightened up when I heard the taxi driver, speaking in a familiar accent, asking me where I came from.

Posted: June 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Katipunan ‘uprising’: MMDA vs LTFRB
  • QCPD dares 2 men in road rage case to show up, clear names
  • Only 3 of 20 tagged in hazing death appear for DOJ probe
  • Cainta cop held in Manila for ‘tasing’ his ex-worker
  • Did you know: National Language Month
  • Sports

  • Cagayan turns back Ateneo in 5 sets
  • Good, bad: Fiba Asia U18 tilt postponed
  • Surprising Chiefs face Bombers; Lions test Stags
  • Duremdes shoulders blame for Falcons’ 37-point debacle
  • PH storms to World Pool QF
  • Lifestyle

  • ‘Usie/ussie’ has more social value than ‘selfie’
  • So very Cory Aquino: A drawer of rosaries
  • Filipino designer makes waves abroad–from weaving
  • Why argan oil is prized–and priced–like gold
  • Senator apologizes to designer
  • Entertainment

  • ‘A Cinemalaya film should still have a life after the fest’
  • Gretchen Barreto keeps mum on Julia
  • Gary Valenciano’s birthday show a family affair
  • No longer in hiding, TNT finds way home
  • Versatile Brit band serves up feast for both the eyes and ears
  • Business

  • Bangko Sentral raises key policy rates
  • Bidders sought for P4-B FTI transport hub project
  • Biz Buzz: SMC-Tan faceoff
  • Dual airport scheme for Luzon urged
  • Only 1 of 10 makes it to 3rd generation
  • Technology

  • Mommy D trends online amid reports she has a boyfriend
  • Britain to trial driverless cars from 2015
  • Japanese gov’t, publishers demand online ‘Manga’ pirates to shut down
  • Twitter flies on surprisingly strong numbers
  • China investigating Microsoft in monopoly case
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, August 1, 2014
  • Editorials
  • Stop cartels like Philip Morris
  • Backing down from confrontation
  • Valuing teachers
  • Global Nation

  • Foreigner found dead in Cavite tunnel
  • PH to rent ship for evacuation of Filipinos in strife-torn Libya
  • PH ranks with strife-torn Syria, Iraq in human development
  • DFA: Mandatory repatriation in Libya continues
  • Filipinos wary of NY City ID cards for the undocumented
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement