Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Fr. Jerry M. OrbosSVD” - Moments

In our small way

By ,

The story is told about an Ilocano who donated blood for a German who needed surgery. He was thrifty and frugal, so imagine his surprise when the German gave him a BMW out of gratitude. Later he donated blood again, but this time the German gifted him with fruits and a thank-you card. When he asked the German why, the latter said: “That’s because I now have Ilocano blood within me!”

Posted: July 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Hearing and remembering

By ,

Theh story is told about a senior citizen who frantically reported to the police that he couldn’t find his car keys and his car in the mall parking lot. He then called his wife and told her of his predicament, but before he could finish, she said: “Didn’t you hear what I said before I dropped you off that I will come back for you? Now will you please come and tell this policeman who stopped me that I have not stolen your car!”

Posted: July 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Loaded

By ,

The story is told about a group of priests who were engrossed in a “weighty” subject matter. One of them said, “My doctor told me I am obese.” Another said, “I am obese 1.” And the next said, “I am obese 2!” Just then, the bishop walked in and they asked him if he was obese. And his response was: “Yes I am Obispo!”

Posted: July 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Heart to heart

By ,

The story is told about a priest who was preaching about loving one’s enemies. When he asked the gathered faithful who among them had plenty of enemies, no hand was raised. When he asked who among them had a few enemies, a few raised their hands. When he asked who among them had no enemies, an old parishioner raised his hand. When the priest asked him why, he said, “Father, I am 102 years old, and all my enemies are dead.”

Posted: June 29th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Real presence

By ,

The story is told about a priest who asked a candidate for adult baptism: “Are you already prepared for baptism?” The man answered: “Yes, Father, we already have the pulutan (appetizers), and we already have contacted a caterer.” The priest said: “I mean, are you prepared in spirit?” To which the man responded:  “Oh yes, […]

Posted: June 22nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Supreme Court stops sale of Ayala TechnoHub land
  • In Davao Sur town, charity gives poor hope
  • Secret Service chief quits due to security lapses
  • Heritage tag for 204-yr-old church sought
  • Joseph Estrada to revive expanded truck ban if…
  • Sports

  • NU makes UAAP history, beats Ateneo, to face FEU in finals
  • Caluag ends PH gold drought
  • Focus, strategy key cycling triumph
  • Gilas settles for record low 7th place
  • Thompson lifts Altas past Blazers
  • Lifestyle

  • She prefers her ‘adobo’ dry, herbed, marinated in red wine vinegar
  • Idiosyncratic, refined Chinese fusion–but purists beware
  • Seafood glass noodle salad
  • How Lita Urbina grew Café Laguna from a 5-table ‘carinderia’ to a restaurant chain in the South
  • Crunchy papaya salad, three-sauce pork belly, melt-in-the-mouth squid–this is no ‘fusion-confusion’
  • Entertainment

  • Perennial joiner wins at long last
  • The girl who would be Kim
  • No use bashing her; she doesn’t care
  • Love Knots, October 2, 2014
  • A. Lipin, October 2, 2014
  • Business

  • Preparing the banking industry for Asean integration
  • More women joining top management of PH firms
  • Typhoon-affected banks get reprieve
  • Taiwan insurer buys 20% of RCBC for P18B
  • PLDT beefing up fiber optic network capacity
  • Technology

  • Microsoft skips Windows 9 to stress advances
  • Netizens blast sexy model for using cop connection to beat traffic violation
  • Palace backs prepaid SIM registration
  • Man, wife behind ‘crush’ videos get life sentence
  • Turkey’s president dismisses new iPhone: ‘Same as the last’
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, October 2, 2014
  • We stand in Central
  • Questions
  • Political ferment in Hong Kong
  • Recto in a time of disenchantment
  • Global Nation

  • 2 Filipino crewmen injured in ship explosion off Portland, Oregon
  • Japan eases visa requirements for Filipinos
  • AFP operations eyed to rescue 2 seized Germans
  • Del Rosario cites bravery of UN peacekeepers
  • Aquino rebukes UN: Mission impossible
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement