Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Shirley Wilson de las Alas” - High blood

My American father

By

I was born in Larap, a dusty mining town in Camarines Norte, in 1938; the name has since been changed from Larap to Jose Panganiban. My father worked in a mining company, possibly the defunct Philippine Iron Mines—the only one operating in Larap at that time, according to someone at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources’ Mines and Geosciences Bureau in Daraga, Albay—which belonged to an American company called Luzon Stevedoring (Lusteveco). Later, my father became a skipper in one of its tugboats named Narwal, and he died in Bongabon, Mindoro, while the boat was docked there. Lusteveco ceased operations sometime in 1986.

Posted: March 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Another kind of love letter

By

I wrote this letter to a nephew in response to a message he left on Facebook for me. After writing and reading it, I noticed that its message of love is applicable to almost everyone. So I decided to submit it for publication. I know that many sons don’t give love to their mothers, are often short with their mothers, forgetting how their mothers loved and cherished them from birth to adulthood.

Posted: February 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

I don’t believe in ghosts, but…

By

I don’t believe in ghosts. Do you? Well, let me tell you a story. Years ago I lived in this building where I live now, only on a lower floor. My home then was in another country, so I occupied that unit only occasionally. My son lived in Canlubang with his small family.

Posted: October 31st, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Don’t you just love these comic books?

By

As a child, growing up with at least 200 chattering other girls, I lost myself in the world of comic books. There were: Superman; Batman and Robin; Wonder Woman; Spiderman; the amazing Flash Gordon, who predicted some of what we enjoy today; Dick Tracy, who talked on his radio watch; Black Hawk, with his slew of equally handsome heroes; Patsy Walker, the blonde, and her rival, the glamorous Hedy de Vine; and the classics: “Les Misérables,” “A Tale of Two Cities,” and “Ivanhoe,” again with a blonde and a brunette, and myself unable to decide who was the fairer of the two.

Posted: October 5th, 2013 in Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Mrs. Schemer, I presume?

By

“A rose by any other name would smell as sweet…” but, Sir William, had you heard of “Bubuy,” “Rek Rek,” or “Weng Weng,” would you still of that same opinion be?

Posted: June 9th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Abad didn’t sign DAP Saros
  • 3rd impeachment rap vs Aquino poised
  • Plunder rap vs power execs pushed
  • Death of stranded turtle prompts DENR probe order
  • Flood alert raised in Pangasinan, Tarlac
  • Sports

  • Lawmakers want probe of Pangilinan’s firms after NBA exhibition game fiasco
  • La Salle’s Sauler hopes to get Thomas Torres back in 2nd round
  • Perkins helps La Salle avoid 0-3 hole, nips NU
  • NCAA: JRU escapes Perpetual Help with last-second shot
  • Ateneo stays perfect, keeps UP winless
  • Lifestyle

  • We will miss The Tivoli
  • Bidding goodbye–with a nine-course degustation dinner
  • Tour takes one on the science and art of food
  • A taste of Albay: ‘Tinutungan na manok,’ toasted ‘siopao,’ chili ice cream
  • Tonkatsu resto offers Iberico, heritage Berkshire and other fine pork varieties
  • Entertainment

  • Claudine Barretto’s lawyer on Raymart Santiago: ‘Defensive much?’
  • Wahlburgers’ premieres tonight
  • And then there were four
  • Agents of Ambush, July 24, 2014
  • Tuldok, July 24, 2014
  • Business

  • PPP program: Of 54 deals, 7 awarded; 20 more at P900B
  • Asian shares extend gains on Wall St. rally
  • PSEi rises on Wall Street gains
  • Lucio Co buying 38% of PBCom for P5.97 billion
  • HIV pills show more promise to prevent infection
  • Technology

  • Home Stand game cancellation triggers online fury
  • Google made failed bid for Spotify—report
  • US agency goes off topic, tweets about Kim Kardashian
  • Britain’s Prince Harry voices hatred of Twitter
  • Tips for effective e-mail marketing
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, July 24, 2014
  • The disappointed
  • Mad about the DAP
  • For what?
  • ‘Raining humans’
  • Global Nation

  • No charges filed against Aussie jihadist
  • POEA exempts some OFWs from deployment ban in Libya
  • American found dead in Cagayan de Oro hotel
  • OFW escaped death twice in Saudi Arabia, says DFA
  • A kiss, a prayer: The last hours of MH17′s victims
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement