Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Roberto S. Salva” - Commentary

Dickens in the Philippines

By

I began to read Charles Dickens two or three years after high school. I was out of school then without any great expectations.  I found myself roaming the streets of Manila with no particular direction, no sense of a future and subsisted, during these wanderings, on water and ten-peso-or-so bread.   I came to the [...]

Posted: January 15th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The patrimony of the Filipino deaf

By

PAMELA, a former scholar of the Catholic Ministry to Deaf People Inc., dropped by the office last summer to update us on her life working as a teacher with the deaf community in Calbayog, Samar. She relayed to us something she had observed in the sign language of the deaf community there: Some signs are different from those used by the deaf in Manila.

Posted: November 2nd, 2012 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

PWD grade for the Aquino administration

By

I have asked PWD (persons with disability) leaders to grade the Aquino administration’s efforts for the sector. We are in the season of evaluation, prompted by President Aquino’s State of the Nation Address, and I do not want the sector to be excluded again from the reports.

Posted: July 14th, 2012 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Reading with ‘K’

By

In K + 12, the new basic education program, the Department of Education is not introducing a formal science class until the third grade. It wants the children to focus on learning how to read first.

Posted: June 4th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Sign up

By

When I traveled to Quebec City, the heart of French Canada, I realized that I had been misinformed. The locals, it turned out, were not really bilingual. They spoke French, and English was a burden.

Posted: December 4th, 2011 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Ice bucket challenge co-pioneer dies
  • Palace chaplain offers prayer for Aquino’s ‘infinite’ term
  • US mission to rescue hostages in Syria failed
  • Aquino attends mass for father Ninoy
  • Reactions to killing of journalist James Foley
  • Sports

  • Eagles repeat over Warriors
  • Leading Red Lions, Chiefs roll back NCAA rivals
  • Can Gilas Pilipinas really go to war?
  • Castro hurts ankle, may miss W Cup
  • Cone PBAPC coach of year awardee
  • Lifestyle

  • Spicy tomato marmalade
  • CDO’s rice cakes, local ham and fruits; Clark’s ‘chicharon’
  • Filipino food by Amy Besa featured at The Maya Kitchen
  • Cibo bestsellers at 1997 prices
  • Donut chain opens 25th branch
  • Entertainment

  • As cohosts, Mariel and Robin keep it professional
  • Sentimental rock star remembers mom, his idol
  • What makes a hero?
  • Agents of Ambush, August 21, 2014
  • Tuldok, August 21, 2014
  • Business

  • US stocks mostly up as Fed debate intensifies
  • Cabangon-Chua group set to take over RPN-9
  • Return to over 7% GDP growth seen in Q2
  • Toyota sets P2B investment
  • New scheme to address power shortfall in ’15
  • Technology

  • B&N, Samsung unveil reading-focused Nook tablet
  • Lapid wants Senate to probe text scams
  • Dating sites match up people, pooches
  • Makeup transformation craze getting creative, appalling
  • SC issues one-line tweet to welcome Jardeleza; others wary of new SC justice
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, August 21, 2014
  • The blame game
  • Ninoy Aquino’s assassination
  • Walk far, wear ‘tsinelas’
  • Zero-based bureaucracy
  • Global Nation

  • AFP: No Filipinos fighting with ISIS
  • Ballet Philippines in Oct. tour of US West Coast, British Columbia
  • Filipino on trial in California for terrorist plot
  • Chamber singers first Filipino artists to perform at LA’s famous Disney Hall
  • Kwek-kwek, betamax – hot sells at LA Filipino street food hub
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement