Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Rina Jimenez-David” - At Large

MERS-CoV and mothers

By

At the press conference for the stakeholders’ forum called “A Promise Renewed for Kalusugan Pangkalahatan (Universal Health),” members of the media were all agog over the possibility that MERS-CoV, or the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome-Corona Virus, had reached the Philippines.

Posted: April 25th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Bishops and the environment

By

Remarkable is an open letter published in Tuesday’s issue of this paper. It is signed by an impressive array of Catholic bishops, starting with Luis Antonio Cardinal Tagle, Archbishop of Manila, and capped by his immediate predecessor, Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales, Archbishop Emeritus of Manila.

Posted: April 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Couponers, pilgrims and Earth Day

By

One of my favorite shows on cable TV is called “Extreme Couponing.” It’s about how some Americans—mostly housewives, although some men, including a college student, have also been featured—dedicate themselves to snipping discount coupons from newspapers, magazines and booklets, collecting these, then using the coupons to bag grocery items at discounted rates of up to 90 percent.

Posted: April 22nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

From culinary desert to paradise

By

When I was a student in Maryknoll College (now Miriam) on Katipunan Avenue in Quezon City, Loyola Heights, as the general area was then known, was kind of a culinary desert. About the only place we could go to when we wanted to meet “boys” or just hang out was the snack bar of Shoppersville, a small supermarket, almost directly across from our school. And we went there not so much to stuff ourselves as to see and be seen. If we wanted to dine out, we would usually have to go all the way to Cubao, and even there the pickings were slim.

Posted: April 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Mommy D’s magic

By

You’ve got to love Dionisia Pacquiao! Reports have it that the Pacman’s mother—the PacMom herself—garnered as much attention in the social media as her son during the televised coverage of Manny Pacquiao’s domination of Timothy Bradley in their championship fight.

Posted: April 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Gloom, doom and Holy Week’s meaning

By

Palm Sunday, was, for me, always a day of anticipation. First, the gathering of the faithful in churches, carrying palm fronds folded, bent, decorated in fanciful shapes. Then, waiting for the priest to arrive, followed by acolytes bearing at times a small silver urn filled with holy water, with a ball-tipped rod with which to sprinkle the palms and the people. (Nowadays, a squeezable plastic bottle will also do.)

Posted: April 15th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Conscience and competence

By

They giveth and yet they taketh away. The Supreme Court ruled that the Responsible Parenthood and Reproductive Health Law is constitutional but at the same time ruled that eight provisions of the law should be struck down.

Posted: April 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Still on the Cebu airport

By

As a young man, recalls Sen. Serge Osmeña, he drove his father, the late senator Sergio Osmeña Jr., to the old VIP airport (on the site of Terminal 3) where his father boarded a small plane to Cebu with the late President Ramon Magsaysay.

Posted: April 11th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Peace women

By

I can imagine the elation of supporters of the Responsible Parenthood and Reproductive Health Law gathered in Baguio, in Manila, and elsewhere in the country over news that the Supreme Court has, by and large, ruled that the RH Law is constitutional.

Posted: April 9th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Is today the day?

By

Rumor has it that the Supreme Court will be deliberating on the constitutionality of the “Responsible Parenthood and Reproductive Health Law” today. Indeed, many groups anticipate that the high tribunal would even be ready to issue its decision on this day, the reason both “pros” and “antis” have gathered in Baguio where the “supremes” are holding their summer session in accordance with tradition.

Posted: April 8th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

A new airport for Cebu

By

Sen. Serge Osmeña, in the course of hearings on the recently-awarded contract for the modernization of the Mactan Cebu International Airport, has derided the proposed design as a “glorified chicken coop.”

Posted: April 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Loving games of chance

By

A friend recalls standing before the counter of a drugstore in a province south of Manila when he was approached by a woman accompanied by her young son. “Sir,” said the woman in Filipino, “I need to buy medicines for my sick husband but I don’t have enough with me. Could you please help me meet the full amount?”

Posted: April 4th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Ukraine FM: We are ready to fight Russia
  • Slain officer’s ‘diagram’ rocks PNP
  • 2 contractors fined P25,000 for delays in Edsa rehab
  • Luisita beneficiaries take over renters
  • 5 years of hard work pay off for top UP grad
  • Sports

  • Sharapova advances to Stuttgart quarterfinals
  • Galedo caps ride of redemption
  • Beermen, Express dispute second semis slot today
  • Lady Agilas upset Lady Bulldogs in four sets
  • NLEX roars to 7th D-League win
  • Lifestyle

  • A brand for life
  • Wear a rainbow on your wrist
  • Wearing Kate Moss
  • Sail into summer
  • Life lessons from the Ultimate Warrior
  • Entertainment

  • Kristoffer Martin: from thug to gay teen
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Cris Villonco on play adapted from different medium
  • OMB exec’s assurance: We work 24/7
  • Business

  • Gaming stocks gain, PSEi eases on profit-taking
  • Cebu Pacific flew 3.74M passengers as of March
  • Corporate bonds sweeteners
  • Professionals in the family business
  • Foreign funds flowed out in Q1, says BSP
  • Technology

  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, April 25, 2014
  • No deal, Janet
  • Like making Al Capone a witness vs his gang
  • MERS-CoV and mothers
  • A graduation story
  • Global Nation

  • Afghan hospital guard kills 3 American doctors
  • Career diplomat is new PH consul general in Los Angeles
  • US4GG: Aquino should ask Obama for TPS approval, drone technology
  • Complex health care system for California’s elderly and poor explained
  • Tiff with HK over Luneta hostage fiasco finally over
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement