Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Raul C. Pangalangan” - Publisher’s Note

Serious look at cartoons

By

The Inquirer’s “Comic Relief” page includes social critique in the form of humor, and we take pride in the Filipino cartoonists whose careers and artistic lives have found a home there. A prime example is “Pugad Baboy” which, for more than two decades, poked fun at the Filipino, the better for us to understand ourselves.

Posted: June 15th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Missing the forest as well as the trees

By

The debate about the protest by Carlos Celdran exposes fault lines in the way Filipinos think. The reactions have been most telling: Filipinos still love their churches and their courts, however much and often they had been let down in the past.

Posted: February 8th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘When a great tree falls…’

By

Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. said: “When a great tree falls, we are surprised to see how meager the landscape seems without it.” Legal academia lost two icons the past weekend—Araceli Baviera who taught civil law and Domingo Disini who taught labor law, both at the University of the Philippines.

Posted: February 7th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Anti-RH, anti-poor and anti-women

By

The members of the parliamentary opposition to reproductive health must face the music. They owe their power to the democratic process. They mustn’t disdain the democratic verdict. If only to show respect for the source of their power and all the perks they now enjoy, they must stop delaying the vote. It isn’t kosher to enjoy democracy’s bounties while shrugging off its burdens. President Aquino said it more diplomatically when he convened the pro-RH congressmen in Malacañang: “Leadership comes not just with perks but also with responsibilities, and among those responsibilities is that of making a choice.”

Posted: December 7th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Purging the (party) list

By

This week I retire this column upon assuming my new responsibilities as Inquirer publisher. I wrote Passion for Reason every week over the past eight years, and was always surprised at how much more Filipinos preferred to find solutions in laws and institutions rather than in themselves. What should make me exalt as a law professor would make me grieve as a citizen. When we abdicate our prerogative to make hard choices, we empower others to decide for us. A free, robust and intelligent press should help the Filipino everyman reclaim the public sphere and, happily for the youth and their computer-savvy elders, recreate that sphere in print and just about every new digital medium that empowers readers to talk back and shout out.

Posted: October 26th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • UPLB provides shuttle service, sets ‘curfew’ after rape incident
  • Santiago wants Binay-Trillanes debate televised to see who lies
  • October 2014 Registered Electrical Engineers and Registered Master Electricians Licensure Examinations
  • CA confirms promotion of Army general blamed for Maguindanao massacre, 88 others
  • Raps filed vs 6 ex-solons over ‘pork’ scam; Napoles faces fresh charges
  • Sports

  • Army redeems two-set blunder, overcomes Cagayan in five sets
  • Sharapova blows chance at year-end number one
  • PBA’s Danny Ildefonso drops charges vs ‘peeping tom’
  • Schumacher’s doctor sees progress after injury
  • Lions complete ‘5-peat’
  • Lifestyle

  • Heartbroken Chinese woman drowns sorrow eating at KFC
  • No sex please, you’re students—Zimbabwe university
  • A week on the road in North Korea
  • Mama Sita’s brings PH flavors to the world’s most prestigious food expo – The 2014 SIAL Paris
  • Living Life ‘Til The Very End
  • Entertainment

  • Cherie Gil says sorry to Vice Ganda over ‘scum’ tweet
  • Italy’s singing nun covers Madonna’s ‘Like A Virgin’
  • ‘Grimm’ Season 4 debuts Sunday
  • Doors that ‘Saigon’ opened for Rachelle
  • A thoroughly Asian fest for the region and beyond
  • Business

  • EU, PCCI ask PH gov’t for trade facilitation measures
  • EU not keen on Customs pre-shipment inspection amid port congestion
  • URC, Danone sign joint venture to manufacture beverages in PH
  • SSI Group prices IPO at ‘upper end’ P7.50 per share
  • Nokia in $950 million Q3 profit on growing sales
  • Technology

  • Google offers peek into Bhutan with Street View launch
  • Driver of private car using Uber app nabbed in LTFRB sting
  • Zuckerberg speaks Chinese; Beijing students cheer
  • Apple computer sells for record $905K in NY–Bonhams
  • Samsung debuts new Nook tablet with larger screen
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, October 23, 2014
  • Truck ban
  • To have peace, there must be justice
  • Double entendre
  • Binay’s politics
  • Global Nation

  • Moscow-Cebu flights start December until May 2015
  • De Lima notes some ambiguous provisions in VFA
  • Foreign maids endure abuse in UAE—Human Rights Watch
  • Widodo kicks off Asean introduction with PH visit
  • DOJ to Interpol: Don’t remove ‘red notice’ tag on Aman Futures boss
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement