Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Ramon J. Farolan” - Reveille

Coup d’etat

By

The phrase “coup d’etat” is of French origin and means “a blow against the State.” It consists of sudden and decisive strokes, usually unconstitutional, and at times accompanied by violence by which the existing structure of government is drastically altered.

Posted: August 4th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

AFP pensioners deserve respect

By

Last week I wrote about the tsunami that hit the province of Aceh in Indonesia in December 2004. Although the effects of the tsunami were felt in other countries in the region, Aceh was the worst-hit with fatalities of close to 200,000 people.

Posted: December 1st, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

A sense of urgency

By

The latest incursion into Philippine territory by Chinese warships and fishing vessels has been at Ayungin Shoal in the Spratlys, one of hundreds of islands, reefs and atolls in the archipelago.

Posted: May 26th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The fight continues

By

Three years ago, I wrote a column titled “Two injustices, different endings.” The first injustice had to do with the treatment of Filipino war veterans who served in the US Armed Forces at the outbreak of the Pacific War in 1941. Alongside US soldiers, the Filipinos fought with loyalty and determination even when the white [...]

Posted: February 24th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

December events

By

My recollection of Dec. 8, 1941, was going to Mass at the Baguio Cathedral, accompanied by an aunt, a deeply religious woman with a special devotion to Our Lady of Mount Carmel. Just as we were leaving the church, I saw a low-flying, single engine airplane with a large red dot on its wings and fuselage. The plane flew so low and at relatively slow speed such that I could make out the image of the pilot in his open cockpit. It was the first time I had actually seen a plane in flight and for a 7-year-old boy, the experience would remain etched in memory for many years to come.

Posted: December 16th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Court finds evidence vs Cito Lorenzo, Joc-joc Bolante insufficient
  • COA: Where’s P160M for Bohol dairy project?
  • Makati City parking building probe splits NP
  • Bernas tells Aquino to retire, give Santiago a chance
  • Binay hits foes for smear
  • Sports

  • Tolomia tows FEU over La Salle and into top spot
  • Seldom-used Basibas gives injury-hit UST lift to beat UP
  • UP coach Rey Madrid ejected, could face suspension anew
  • Mayweather unleashes ‘counterpunch’ vs former pal’s challenge
  • NBA: Olympic bonding with LeBron helped Cavs land Love
  • Lifestyle

  • Home store opens flagship at SM Megamall
  • Peace of mind seminar slated
  • Robert Hass wins $100,000 poetry prize
  • Canadian design company redefines utilitarian style
  • Sleep on a mattress that can make you healthier
  • Entertainment

  • Agents of Ambush, August 28, 2014
  • Tuldok, August 28, 2014
  • A. Lipin, August 28, 2014
  • Lakan at Makisig, August 28, 2014
  • Fireworks, tears at Heart Evangelista-Chiz Escudero engagement
  • Business

  • No acceptable offers for 500,000-metric-ton rice import at NFA bidding
  • Emperador to debut on PSEi Sept. 15
  • RCBC to issue new negotiable certificates of time deposit
  • SC stops rehab of CAP
  • Max’s Group to tap capital market
  • Technology

  • Instagram launches time-lapse video app for iPhone
  • Mobile use bad for school test scores–Japan study
  • Top 10 songs and albums on the iTunes Store
  • Study: Social media users shy away from opinions
  • Apple recalls defective iPhone 5 batteries, offers replacement
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, August 28, 2014
  • Decapitating the truth
  • ‘Let them eat cake’
  • Disputing treason because of Itu Aba
  • Should we amend the Constitution?
  • Global Nation

  • Daly City dentist linked to gun smuggling probe dies
  • ‘PH is 2nd top destination of criminal suspects fleeing South Korea’
  • ‘Yolanda’ victims need continuous help – ICRC head
  • Filipino, Swedish arrested in credit card, ATM fraud in Thailand
  • Peaceful progress still elusive in PH – study
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement