Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Peter Wallace” - Like It Is

It’s up to us

By

I had a couple of heartening responses to my column last week from friends in the Aboitiz family through their charitable donations, and from my good friend Jun Magsaysay. The golf tournament was a very successful event, graced by former president Fidel Ramos’ indomitable spirit (how he keeps going in such an indefatigable way I’m damned if I know). We raised enough funds to help seven families start a new life. The winner of the tournament was Nino Bandoquillo, with Sgt. Alex Dagooc as first runner-up (whatever happened to the second of my youth in sports?). Villamor Golf Club under Col. Oscar Calingasan did a great job of organizing and feeding.

Posted: April 24th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others

By

But isn’t it always time to think of others?

Posted: April 17th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Might isn’t right

By

I find the full-page statement by the Chinese government in another newspaper offensive. Not only does it ignore the aggressive actions it’s taken, it also makes a demand that does not fit the modern globalized era. The tone of the message was not of one seeking a mutually agreed solution, it was one of putting across a demand that its belief be accepted unquestionably.

Posted: April 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The bucket list

By

We’ve seen remarkable change in the past three years. And it’s been in the most important area: attitude, or how people think about themselves and their country. There’s a confidence and optimism in business that had gone underground under Gloria Arroyo and we’d lost hope. Well, hope is back.

Posted: April 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Some lighthearted relief

By

Some things you do are historic. Have you ever sat in a black theater with the jam-packed crowd settling down, anticipating, anticipating you know not quite what?

Posted: March 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Whose side?

By

Whose side would you rather be on? The United States that tries to force free trade on countries, or China that tries to annex portions of your land (and sea)?

Posted: March 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Some pet peeves

By

I’m going to clear my desk a little (you should see the mounds of paper on it; I think there’s a desk underneath) with some notes I’ve made as events happen.

Posted: March 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Traffic safety

By

Let me give you some other ideas about traffic, and let me start with one that is uppermost: safety. How do we make driving in Metro Manila and elsewhere safer?

Posted: March 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Language the unifier

By

I know it’s unpopular with the nationalists, but I’ve long argued the importance of not losing English as the country’s principal language. Yes, losing. When my wife went to school in the ’50s and ’60s, English was the language of tuition and the language at home together with Tagalog.

Posted: February 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead

By

The Philippines is 15-25 years behind the major countries in Asia when it comes to infrastructure. One of the world’s worst airports is a good start. Lack of political will (in this administration and also the previous ones) is one of the top reasons the Philippines lags behind other Asian economies. Opposition by some losers and well-intentioned but misguided critics is not far behind.

Posted: February 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Been stuck in traffic lately?

By

I was stuck in traffic the other day, and another day, and another day. It’s the norm now, although unacceptable. It won’t do. And it needn’t do, if there’s one simple thing: ACTION, instead of talk. What is needed is control—control that would cost nothing except firm political will to enforce sensible traffic rules.

Posted: February 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

DICT is not addition

By

The president doesn’t want to create a Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) because it will further complicate the bureaucracy, there are already too many departments, agencies, etc., etc. I couldn’t agree more; simplification of the bureaucracy should be top of his list in addressing the administrative governance of this country. That’s one of [...]

Posted: February 5th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Save the queen? Aide takes fall for Enrile, Gigi Reyes
  • Whistle-blowers now alarmed
  • Palace prepared to charge its allies
  • 12 senators on Napoles ‘pork’ list, says Lacson
  • PNP chief on plunder raps: ‘Amateurish’
  • Sports

  • Mixers trim Aces, force do-or-die tiff
  • Donaire junks Garcia as coach, taps father
  • ’Bye Ginebra: No heavy heart this time
  • UAAP board tackles new rules
  • Baguio climb to decide Le Tour de Filipinas
  • Lifestyle

  • Entering the monkhood a rite of passage
  • Haneda International Airport: A destination on its own
  • Wanted: Beauty queen with a heart that beats for the environment
  • Kim Atienza: At home with art and design
  • Life lessons I want to teach my son
  • Entertainment

  • Return of ‘Ibong Adarna’
  • Practical Phytos plans his future
  • In love … with acting
  • From prison to the peak of success
  • ‘Asedillo’ location thrives
  • Business

  • Philippine Airlines to stop shipment of shark fins
  • PH banks not ready for Asean integration
  • Stocks down on profit-taking
  • Banks allowed to use ‘cloud’
  • SMIC to issue P15-B bonds
  • Technology

  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Engineers create a world of difference
  • Bam Aquino becomes Master Splinter’s son after Wiki hack
  • Mark Caguioa lambasts Ginebra teammates on Twitter
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 24, 2014
  • Talking to Janet
  • Respite
  • Bucket list
  • JPII in 1981: walking a tightrope
  • Global Nation

  • What Went Before: Manila bus hostage crisis
  • Obama arrives in Tokyo, first stop of 4-nation tour
  • Believe it or not: Filipinos love US more than Yanks
  • PH, HK end bitter row; sanctions lifted
  • 19 Ukrainians, Russians, Filipinas rescued in bar raid
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement