Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Peter Wallace” - Like It Is

Time for a legal revolution

By

Let me further explain my position on the Constitution because it was questioned from my last column.

Posted: July 24th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Benefit the people, not the pocket

By

With the announcement of President Aquino that he is going to fight the Supreme Court decision on the Disbursement Acceleration Program (DAP), I think we must revisit this topic.

Posted: July 17th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Stay home, it’s more fun in PH!

By

You’d think tourists would be a timorous crowd, that they’d go only where they think it’s safe to go. Not where it’s safe, but where they think it is. That should mean a windfall for the Philippines, as Thailand-heading vacationers think twice, for example.

Posted: July 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Managing poverty reduction

By

It doesn’t need managing, it needs eliminating. And there’s only one way to do that: Create well-paying jobs. The “well-paying” bit is overlooked in government, where even nonpaying jobs (on the farm for dad, particularly) are considered in the statistics. I rely better on Social Weather Stations (SWS), where I find the stats more believable. [...]

Posted: July 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Give the poor jobs

By

“Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead.” That was supposed to have been said by US Adm. David Farragut during the American Civil War. It means, if you want to win you have to take risks.

Posted: June 26th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Abad appears in Senate with Cabinet execs in tow
  • Budget chief Butch Abad faces Senate probe on DAP
  • Rainy Thursday for PH as southwest monsoon persists
  • Crash kills US teen pilot seeking world record
  • Court upholds dismissal of state prosecutor behind Garcia plea bargain
  • Sports

  • PLDT refunds tickets; MVP apologizes
  • Eagles alone on top at 3-0
  • Chiefs grab 2nd; Bombers score
  • Petron volleybelles clinch 5th over Cagayan
  • Army tackles Shakey’s V-League champion Cagayan
  • Lifestyle

  • 30 women vie for 2014 Mutya title
  • We will miss The Tivoli
  • Bidding goodbye–with a nine-course degustation dinner
  • Tour takes one on the science and art of food
  • A taste of Albay: ‘Tinutungan na manok,’ toasted ‘siopao,’ chili ice cream
  • Entertainment

  • Claudine Barretto’s lawyer on Raymart Santiago: ‘Defensive much?’
  • Wahlburgers’ premieres tonight
  • And then there were four
  • Agents of Ambush, July 24, 2014
  • Tuldok, July 24, 2014
  • Business

  • S&P 500 at new record on Apple earnings; Dow drops
  • New team seen curbing corruption
  • 500,000-ton hike in rice imports set
  • Metrobank completes P6.5B IOU issuance
  • P1.52B deal turns Sinophil into key gaming firm
  • Technology

  • China deletes Web reports on blow-up giant toad
  • Get paid for posting? Social networking’s new twist
  • Home Stand game cancellation triggers online fury
  • Google made failed bid for Spotify—report
  • US agency goes off topic, tweets about Kim Kardashian
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, July 24, 2014
  • The disappointed
  • Mad about the DAP
  • For what?
  • ‘Raining humans’
  • Global Nation

  • No Filipinos on crashed Taiwanese plane
  • Fil-Am is behind Kwoller, the price-tracking mobile app for shoppers
  • Young Fil-Am leaders in PH for ‘immersion’
  • Expats from Haiyan-ravaged Palompon meet in Niagara Falls
  • No charges filed against Aussie jihadist
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement