Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Neni Sta. Romana Cruz” - Commentary

Keeping the conversation on education going

By

“Education that teaches people to ask questions” was how Drew Gilpin Hurst, the 28th and the first woman president of the 375-year-old Harvard University, described the kind of education that matters in a recent television interview.

Posted: April 12th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Deciphering the Filipino psyche

By

An unexpected invitation during my continuing personal visit to the East Bay in San Francisco came from Chevron’s Filipino Employees Network (FEN), which wanted me to speak yet again on my pop culture books—“You Know You’re Filipino If…,” “Don’t Take a Bath on a Friday,” and “Ngalang Pinoy,” all published by Tahanan Books. The FEN had warmly received me a number of times before, and this time was no exception.

Posted: April 5th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Tacloban children not ‘forgotten victims’

By

As I must have mentioned in the past, the only daily e-mail blast I welcome is the faithful Google Alert bringing news about books and the love of reading. There are not too many books on the topic to make a daily bulletin, so the Alerts are mostly on the efforts of concerned citizens or private and public library systems to keep the habit of reading alive—and loved.

Posted: March 22nd, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Not just good but great teachers

By

When teachers introduce themselves and their careers with an apologetic “I am only a teacher,” my hackles are raised and I never pass up the chance to chide them and remind them about the vital role they play in the nurturing of hearts and minds.

Posted: March 8th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

No secret to Shanghai’s success in education

By

The Programme for International Student Assessment (Pisa) is a study by the Paris-based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development of the scholastic performance of 15-year-old students in nations all over the world in three areas of competencies—math, science and reading—on a 1000-point scale. It is run every three years to inform better education policies and outcomes of the participating countries.

Posted: February 7th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Is pushing a button learning?

By

Perhaps I will be a more credible speaker at literacy workshops with this experience I am going through with my grandson Diego, who is in the throes of the Terrible Threes. How everyone in the family laughed when I threw up my arms in exasperation, saying that all my literacy beliefs were being put to a test. For Diego had just dealt me a cruel blow—rejecting my offer of a book to read, and preferring to do so on his parents’ hand-me-down iPad.

Posted: January 17th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Bonifacio still on my mind

By

Two major productions are to be commended for highlighting November, the month that was especially dedicated to Andres Bonifacio.

Posted: December 28th, 2013 in Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Do you know the way to Maragondon?

By

I knew I was off to a great start when I began my private celebration of Andres Bonifacio’s 150th birth anniversary with the Gantimpala Theater musicale “Mga Anak ng Bayan,” written by Bonifacio Ilagan and directed by Joel Lamangan.

Posted: December 13th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Lipsticks today, books to follow

By

Why is the education secretary, Br. Armin Luistro FSC, talking lipstick these days, even dropping lines like “Nail polish is the new lipstick”? What has gotten into him that he has this new vocabulary?

Posted: November 29th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Think November, think books

By

The week of Nov. 11-16 was a coup of sorts for the National Book Development Board as it mounted the 4th Philippine International Literary Festival, dubbed “Text and the City,” in an innovative new format: a deliberate strategy conceptualized by NBDB deputy executive director Camille V. De la Rosa to reach a wider audience.

Posted: November 16th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Teach for All advocates from 32 countries, 6 continents

By

When I was invited to join the Teach for All conference held on Oct. 18-24 in Shanghai and then Tenchong in Yunnan province by Teach for the Philippines founders and top officials Margarita Delgado, Lizzie Zobel, and Clarissa Delgado, I thought my only involvement would be to interview two former Beijing political exiles…

Posted: November 2nd, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Literary guests for ‘Text and the City’ in November

By

All lovers of the written word, and, I have to add, illustrated images, in view of the rising interest in graphic literature: Brace yourselves for November, a month of literary events.

Posted: October 18th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • 9 confirmed dead after ferry sinks off South Korean coast
  • Aquino to public: Learn to sacrifice
  • 20 killed as Islamic extremists rampage in Nigeria
  • Drug firm Novartis to help Leyte firefighter
  • Fears grow for hundreds missing in South Korea ferry capsize
  • Sports

  • Walker leads Bobcats over Bulls in OT, 91-86
  • Man City slips further out of title contention
  • Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  • Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  • PSC sets Blu Girls US training
  • Lifestyle

  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • This is not just a farm
  • Clams and garlic, softshell crab risotto–not your usual seafood fare for Holy Week
  • Moist, extra-tender blueberry muffins
  • Entertainment

  • American rapper cuts own penis, jumps off building
  • Jay Z to bring Made in America music fest to LA
  • Why Lucky has not bought an engagement ring for Angel
  • Derek more private with new girlfriend
  • ‘Community’ star happy with return of show’s creator
  • Business

  • Fired Yahoo exec gets $58M for 15 months of work
  • PH presses bid to keep rice import controls
  • PSEi continues to gain
  • Number of retrenched workers rose by 42% in ’13
  • PH seen to sustain rise in FDIs
  • Technology

  • DOF: Tagaytay, QC best at handling funds
  • Smart phone apps and sites perfect for the Holy Week
  • Tech company: Change passwords or suffer ‘Heartbleed’
  • Filling the digital talent gap
  • SSS to shut down website for Holy Week
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • Syria most dangerous country for journalists, PH 3rd—watchdog
  • Japan says visa-free entry still a plan
  • First Fil-Am elected to Sierra Madre, Calif. city council
  • UC Irvine cultural night to dramatize clash of values in immigrant family
  • Filipino sweets and info served at UC Berkeley Spring Fest
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement