Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Neni Sta. Romana Cruz” - Commentary

Keeping the conversation on education going

By

“Education that teaches people to ask questions” was how Drew Gilpin Hurst, the 28th and the first woman president of the 375-year-old Harvard University, described the kind of education that matters in a recent television interview.

Posted: April 12th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Deciphering the Filipino psyche

By

An unexpected invitation during my continuing personal visit to the East Bay in San Francisco came from Chevron’s Filipino Employees Network (FEN), which wanted me to speak yet again on my pop culture books—“You Know You’re Filipino If…,” “Don’t Take a Bath on a Friday,” and “Ngalang Pinoy,” all published by Tahanan Books. The FEN had warmly received me a number of times before, and this time was no exception.

Posted: April 5th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Tacloban children not ‘forgotten victims’

By

As I must have mentioned in the past, the only daily e-mail blast I welcome is the faithful Google Alert bringing news about books and the love of reading. There are not too many books on the topic to make a daily bulletin, so the Alerts are mostly on the efforts of concerned citizens or private and public library systems to keep the habit of reading alive—and loved.

Posted: March 22nd, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Not just good but great teachers

By

When teachers introduce themselves and their careers with an apologetic “I am only a teacher,” my hackles are raised and I never pass up the chance to chide them and remind them about the vital role they play in the nurturing of hearts and minds.

Posted: March 8th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

No secret to Shanghai’s success in education

By

The Programme for International Student Assessment (Pisa) is a study by the Paris-based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development of the scholastic performance of 15-year-old students in nations all over the world in three areas of competencies—math, science and reading—on a 1000-point scale. It is run every three years to inform better education policies and outcomes of the participating countries.

Posted: February 7th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Is pushing a button learning?

By

Perhaps I will be a more credible speaker at literacy workshops with this experience I am going through with my grandson Diego, who is in the throes of the Terrible Threes. How everyone in the family laughed when I threw up my arms in exasperation, saying that all my literacy beliefs were being put to a test. For Diego had just dealt me a cruel blow—rejecting my offer of a book to read, and preferring to do so on his parents’ hand-me-down iPad.

Posted: January 17th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Bonifacio still on my mind

By

Two major productions are to be commended for highlighting November, the month that was especially dedicated to Andres Bonifacio.

Posted: December 28th, 2013 in Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Do you know the way to Maragondon?

By

I knew I was off to a great start when I began my private celebration of Andres Bonifacio’s 150th birth anniversary with the Gantimpala Theater musicale “Mga Anak ng Bayan,” written by Bonifacio Ilagan and directed by Joel Lamangan.

Posted: December 13th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Lipsticks today, books to follow

By

Why is the education secretary, Br. Armin Luistro FSC, talking lipstick these days, even dropping lines like “Nail polish is the new lipstick”? What has gotten into him that he has this new vocabulary?

Posted: November 29th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Think November, think books

By

The week of Nov. 11-16 was a coup of sorts for the National Book Development Board as it mounted the 4th Philippine International Literary Festival, dubbed “Text and the City,” in an innovative new format: a deliberate strategy conceptualized by NBDB deputy executive director Camille V. De la Rosa to reach a wider audience.

Posted: November 16th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Teach for All advocates from 32 countries, 6 continents

By

When I was invited to join the Teach for All conference held on Oct. 18-24 in Shanghai and then Tenchong in Yunnan province by Teach for the Philippines founders and top officials Margarita Delgado, Lizzie Zobel, and Clarissa Delgado, I thought my only involvement would be to interview two former Beijing political exiles…

Posted: November 2nd, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Literary guests for ‘Text and the City’ in November

By

All lovers of the written word, and, I have to add, illustrated images, in view of the rising interest in graphic literature: Brace yourselves for November, a month of literary events.

Posted: October 18th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • PH will be partly cloudy in afternoon, evening—Pagasa
  • Ex-COA chief nabbed for plunder
  • John Paul relics abound: Bloodied shirt, unwashed fork…
  • Name names, Lacson told
  • Smooth Edsa ride up in 2 years, but…
  • Sports

  • Sharapova advances to Stuttgart quarterfinals
  • Galedo caps ride of redemption
  • Beermen, Express dispute second semis slot today
  • Lady Agilas upset Lady Bulldogs in four sets
  • NLEX roars to 7th D-League win
  • Lifestyle

  • Marinduque: Visiting the ‘palm of the ocean’
  • First at Vatican in 60 years
  • How Jing Monis Salon gave Krissy the pixie
  • Want to be a supermodel? Work on your inner beauty, says Joey Espino
  • Denims that keep you cool–literally
  • Entertainment

  • Kristoffer Martin: from thug to gay teen
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Cris Villonco on play adapted from different medium
  • OMB exec’s assurance: We work 24/7
  • Business

  • Nielsen sees car buying boom in the Philippines
  • How author of best-seller exposed ‘one percent’ economic elite
  • Bangko Sentral readies new bank lending rules
  • Gaming stocks gain, PSEi eases on profit-taking
  • Cebu Pacific flew 3.74M passengers as of March
  • Technology

  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, April 25, 2014
  • No deal, Janet
  • Like making Al Capone a witness vs his gang
  • MERS-CoV and mothers
  • A graduation story
  • Global Nation

  • Abandoned in Malta,15 PH seamen return
  • Senator hopes PH will also get same vow
  • HK victims to get P115M; traders raised money
  • Afghan hospital guard kills 3 US doctors, including Fil-Am pediatrician
  • Career diplomat is new PH consul general in Los Angeles
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement