Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “NELSON D. LAVIÑA” - Commentary

Weep for the motherland

By

American soldiers are coming to town, in the thousands, in battleships and warplanes. They will camp, not in the forests or jungles of the Sierra Madre or Mindanao, but in the metropolises of Manila and Cebu. Their aircraft carriers will be moored in the blue seas of Palawan, the “last frontier” of our hapless land.

Posted: April 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Political masochism

By

This is a tale of two framework agreements: one on the Bangsamoro (FAB) with the Moro Islamic Liberation Front, and the other with America (FAA) on the expanded access of US troops to our country. The Philippine Government (PHG) seems to be losing leverage in both.

Posted: March 14th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

We are a Guantanamo

By

Not in recent memory has our government been subjected to intensely sustained political and diplomatic pressure on US bases except during the incumbencies of the first and second Aquino administrations.

Posted: January 24th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Betrayal of public trust

By

At the height of Chinese arrogance in the West Philippine Sea, Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin offered our former military bases to the United States, in case war breaks out in the region. Commentator Bernie Lopez called it an unconstitutional “suicidal notion.” Journalist Manuel Almario recalled the nuclear “apocalyptic scenario” of Claro M. Recto on a race “with a mysterious urge for suicide.”

Posted: September 22nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Pushing North Korea to the sea

By

Last July 27 the 60th anniversary of the Korean War was observed in Seoul, South Korea (Republic of Korea), “to memorialize” the war. The Philippines, together with some other countries, joined the United States in that conflict, in defense of “democracy.” However, the question of whether we fought on the right side of history still lingers.

Posted: August 11th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

My African diplomatic Safari

By

Might I tell you that, in the foreign service, those who are assigned to North America or Europe would rarely want a transfer elsewhere; some of them have even obtained green cards for residence in the United States or Canada. I had also a tour of duty in each of the two regions; but my wish was to retire in East Africa.

Posted: February 17th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

My Bug and places of a lifetime

By

Let me tell you about an uncommon love affair—an unforgettable man-machine interface, in diplomacy.

Posted: December 9th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Agreement of the parties’

By

There was solemnity then jubilation in Malacañang on that fateful day in October. A framework agreement was signed between the Philippine government and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front to bid farewell to arms after 40 years of conflict, and to establish a new political entity called “Bangsamoro” which would replace the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. The occasion was graced by local and foreign dignitaries led by President Aquino, MILF chief Murad Ibrahim and the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Posted: November 16th, 2012 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Escudero ready to defend self should name appear in Napoles’ list
  • Obama calls for peaceful end to island dispute
  • Russia not abiding by agreement on Ukraine—Obama
  • Magnitude 6.7 quake off British Columbia coast
  • Blue ribbon committee not yet recalling Napoles
  • Sports

  • Benzema guides Madrid to 1-0 win over Bayern
  • Suns’ Goran Dragic win NBA’s Most Improved Player award
  • Heat go up 2-0, hold off Bobcats 101-97
  • Ronaldo shakes off injury fears to play Bayern
  • Mavs roll past Spurs 113-92, even series at 1-1
  • Lifestyle

  • Photos explore dynamics of youths’ sexual identity
  • 12th Philippine Food Expo set at the World Trade Center
  • No tourist draw, Malang the croc will remain wild
  • The best flavors of summer in one bite, and more
  • Homemade yogurt, bread blended with pizza, even ramen
  • Entertainment

  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • Sony developing live-action Barbie comedy
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Return of ‘Ibong Adarna’
  • Practical Phytos plans his future
  • Business

  • Facebook profits triple as mobile soars
  • Insular Honors Sales Performers at Testimonial Rites
  • Apple increases stock buyback, will split stock
  • Cost-recovery provisions for affected gencos urged
  • This time, BIR goes after florists
  • Technology

  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Engineers create a world of difference
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 24, 2014
  • Talking to Janet
  • Respite
  • Bucket list
  • JPII in 1981: walking a tightrope
  • Global Nation

  • Filipinos in Middle East urged to get clearance before returning
  • PH seeks ‘clearer assurance’ from US
  • China and rivals sign naval pact to ease maritime tensions
  • What Went Before: Manila bus hostage crisis
  • Obama arrives in Tokyo, first stop of 4-nation tour
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement