Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Michael L. Tan” - Pinoy Kasi

Talk rules

By

“Let’s talk.” Depending on how it’s said, those two words can have great differences in meaning. Said with a tone that suggests a question—“Let’s talk?” (or even “Talk?”)—the phrase can be a very tentative way of offering an apology. Or it can mean you need something, and want to explore possibilities. Said with a bit more urgency, it becomes imploring.

Posted: April 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Retreat, recharge

By

“Saan ka mag-ho-Holy Week?” a friend asked me the other day, and the linguistics-scientist part of my brain lit up, noting that the literal translation of that phrase would be “Where will you be Holy Week-ing?” A looser translation will mean not just “where” but “what will you be Holy Week-ing?”

Posted: April 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Urgent

By

I am glad to see that both sides of the reproductive health camps see the recent Supreme Court decision as a triumph—the pros jubilant that the law can now be implemented, and the antis happy that several provisions were declared unconstitutional.

Posted: April 11th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

War, peace and valor

By

We tend to think of valor in terms of courage in the battlefield, recognized with medals and rituals and, in the Philippines, an “Araw ng Kagitingan.”

Posted: April 9th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Dwellers, settlers

By

People have been asking how I’m doing after a month in my new job, and I have to say it’s been full of surprises.

Posted: April 4th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Our parents’ children

By

My balikbayan sister visited last January and told me she was thinking of selling her house and retiring to a two-level condo.

Posted: April 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Kulam’ and medicine

By

I’ve written about kulam in many columns, emphasizing how it relates to mistrust. When a serious adverse event happens, we wonder if it might have been caused by kulam.

Posted: March 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Freedom’s names

By

“We are tribeless and all tribes our ours./We are homeless and all homes are ours./We are nameless and all names are ours.”

Posted: March 26th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Reason to celebrate

By

The last time the University of the Philippines topped the bar exams was in 2005. So when the results of the latest exams came out, with UP getting not just the first but also the second, fourth, eighth and tenth places, the College of Law broke out in jubilation.

Posted: March 21st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Digital distractions

By

One helpful piece of advice that I found in several Internet articles: Don’t go to bed with a smartphone or tablet.

Posted: March 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Young gender gaps

By

March is Women’s Month, a good time to reflect on some of the statistics that came out of the 2013 Young Adult Fertility and Sexuality Study (YAFS) conducted by the University of the Philippines Population Institute (UPPI). The survey involved more than 19,000 Filipinos aged 15 to 24, from throughout the Philippines, and some preliminary statistics were released in February.

Posted: March 14th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Breaking traditions

By

Last Friday I wrote about how, sometimes, we might want to appreciate the “pasaway” (defiant) because they can actually be quite creative.

Posted: March 12th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • 4 Etihad passengers not yet located
  • DAR to complete installation of Luisita land reform beneficiaries in May
  • Ex-COA chief and co-accused in Arroyo plunder case nabbed
  • Kris Aquino’s ex- close in security named new Air Force chief
  • The ‘link diagram’ that killed ex-Bataan police officer
  • Sports

  • NLEX holds off Jumbo Plastic for a playoff berth
  • Pacquiao can dodge tax issues
  • F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone rejects bribery charges
  • Big Chill freezes Cafe France to arrest skid
  • Pacquiao has to go through PBA Rookie draft
  • Lifestyle

  • Summer Mayhem: The ultimate beach experience
  • A haven for steak lovers
  • Gongs and southern dances star in a workshop at San Francisco Bayanihan Center
  • This woman ate what?
  • Photos explore dynamics of youths’ sexual identity
  • Entertainment

  • Smithsonian wants photos, videos for ‘Day in the Life of Asian Pacific Americans’
  • What Garcia Marquez left behind
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • Sony developing live-action Barbie comedy
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Business

  • Metro Pacific acquires stake in Victorias
  • How ‘one percent’ economic elite was uncovered
  • Facebook profits triple as mobile soars
  • Insular Honors Sales Performers at Testimonial Rites
  • Apple increases stock buyback, will split stock
  • Technology

  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 24, 2014
  • Talking to Janet
  • Respite
  • Bucket list
  • JPII in 1981: walking a tightrope
  • Global Nation

  • Tiff with HK over Luneta hostage fiasco finally over
  • DOLE sees more Filipinos hired by South Koreans
  • Filipinos second-shortest in Southeast Asia
  • Obama to visit Filipino soldiers in Fort Bonifacio
  • Fil-Am youth conferences unite under one theme
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement