Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Michael L. Tan” - Pinoy Kasi

Retreat, recharge

By

“Saan ka mag-ho-Holy Week?” a friend asked me the other day, and the linguistics-scientist part of my brain lit up, noting that the literal translation of that phrase would be “Where will you be Holy Week-ing?” A looser translation will mean not just “where” but “what will you be Holy Week-ing?”

Posted: April 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Urgent

By

I am glad to see that both sides of the reproductive health camps see the recent Supreme Court decision as a triumph—the pros jubilant that the law can now be implemented, and the antis happy that several provisions were declared unconstitutional.

Posted: April 11th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

War, peace and valor

By

We tend to think of valor in terms of courage in the battlefield, recognized with medals and rituals and, in the Philippines, an “Araw ng Kagitingan.”

Posted: April 9th, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Dwellers, settlers

By

People have been asking how I’m doing after a month in my new job, and I have to say it’s been full of surprises.

Posted: April 4th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Our parents’ children

By

My balikbayan sister visited last January and told me she was thinking of selling her house and retiring to a two-level condo.

Posted: April 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Kulam’ and medicine

By

I’ve written about kulam in many columns, emphasizing how it relates to mistrust. When a serious adverse event happens, we wonder if it might have been caused by kulam.

Posted: March 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Freedom’s names

By

“We are tribeless and all tribes our ours./We are homeless and all homes are ours./We are nameless and all names are ours.”

Posted: March 26th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Reason to celebrate

By

The last time the University of the Philippines topped the bar exams was in 2005. So when the results of the latest exams came out, with UP getting not just the first but also the second, fourth, eighth and tenth places, the College of Law broke out in jubilation.

Posted: March 21st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Digital distractions

By

One helpful piece of advice that I found in several Internet articles: Don’t go to bed with a smartphone or tablet.

Posted: March 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Young gender gaps

By

March is Women’s Month, a good time to reflect on some of the statistics that came out of the 2013 Young Adult Fertility and Sexuality Study (YAFS) conducted by the University of the Philippines Population Institute (UPPI). The survey involved more than 19,000 Filipinos aged 15 to 24, from throughout the Philippines, and some preliminary statistics were released in February.

Posted: March 14th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Breaking traditions

By

Last Friday I wrote about how, sometimes, we might want to appreciate the “pasaway” (defiant) because they can actually be quite creative.

Posted: March 12th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Creative education

By

We tend to associate creativity with artists, often with the assumption that one is born with it. But now there are universities in Europe and the United States that are offering programs—from short seminars to degrees—to help people become creative. The creativity studies are often transdisciplinary in terms of both faculty and students, meaning engineers will get together with managers, natural scientists, artists, or social scientists.

Posted: March 7th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Malaysia, Flight 370 relatives talk financial help
  • Celebrating Easter and creativity in New York
  • Man wins half marathon, dies in Argentina
  • Clouds to bring slight relief from summer heat
  • Canadians rally to legalize marijuana
  • Sports

  • Reigning champs Miami open playoffs with win
  • Spurs subdue Mavericks in playoff opener
  • Wawrinka beats Federer to win Monte Carlo Masters
  • Ageless Hopkins pitches 50-50 Mayweather deal
  • Goodbye MGM, Las Vegas for Pacquiao?
  • Lifestyle

  • Miss America: Don’t suspend teen over prom invite
  • Transitions and resurrection in the performing arts
  • ‘Archaeology tour’ of Cebu’s heritage of faith
  • Historic Fort Bonifacio tunnel converted into a septic tank
  • ‘Imports’ from London, and play of the year
  • Entertainment

  • ‘Captain America’ stays strong atop US box office
  • Easter musings
  • Solenn in shorts
  • Unmerry mix of attention-calling moves on ‘Mini-Me’ TV tilts
  • Persistence pays off for The 1975
  • Business

  • BDO seen keen on bidding for Cocobank
  • Bataan freeport investment pledges up 1,302%
  • Golden Week
  • Bourse to woo Cebu stock mart investors
  • Supper power
  • Technology

  • Nintendo’s trailblazing Game Boy marks 25th anniversary
  • Nasa’s moon-orbiting robot crashes down
  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Opinion

  • Gigi’s home
  • Palace stonewalls on MRT inquiry
  • Couple of things too
  • There is plenty of water behind Wawa Dam
  • Triduum thoughts of a young boy
  • Global Nation

  • Obama on mission to quiet Asia skeptics
  • Search for Etihad passengers launched
  • Japan presents $57-B ‘dream plan’ to solve Metro congestion
  • Tim Tebow’s charity hospital in Davao seen to open in 7 months
  • OFW died of Mers-CoV in Saudi Arabia, says family
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement