Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “John J. Carroll S.J.” - Commentary

‘Miracle’ at Edsa?

By

I am uncomfortable with throwing around the word “miracle” too easily. In many cases I prefer to speak of Divine Providence, working in history and bringing together a series of contingent—might have been different—events and human decisions to bring about a definite outcome. Let us look at the Edsa 1986 event and some of the happenings and decisions that led to it.

Posted: March 1st, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

A discerning Church

By

DON’T EXPECT Pope Francis to soften the Church’s teaching on abortion anytime soon. In a talk last Sept. 20 to gynecologists, he insisted: “Every unborn child, condemned unjustly to being aborted, has the face of the Lord, who before being born, and then when he was just born, experienced the rejection of the world.”

Posted: September 30th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Walking the thin line

By

Has Cardinal Luis Tagle been reading Inquirer columnist Randy David? Seems so, from an interview with Juan Pablo Salud published in Philippines Graphic (Jan. 27).

Posted: February 22nd, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Why I shall spoil my ballot

By

Yes, I am still an American citizen, waiting these many years for permanent-resident status as a step toward Philippine citizenship. I follow American political developments, although not as closely as those of my adopted country.

Posted: November 4th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

88 and counting, but slowly

By

Sadness and satisfaction. Two feelings struggle within me as our institute turns over the feeding program at Nazareno Chapel in Payatas to the local parish. Sadness because it means closing the book on our earliest social program there, one that has occupied my time and attention for some 25 years. Satisfaction because the parish of Our Lady of Divine Providence is ready to take over.

Posted: June 25th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

And the bell tolled

By

The community of Loyola House of Studies was gathering for a special outdoor supper when we were shocked into silence by the booming of a great bell in the tower over our heads, tolling slowly the nine rings of “De Profundis,” the Church’s prayer for the dead. Fr. Francisco Montecastro had passed away in the infirmary, a few steps from where we were gathered.

Posted: May 13th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Trivializing death

By

My friend John Gibson graduated from high school in 1942, as the United States was throwing itself into World War II. He thought of entering the Jesuits, but his parents objected—fearing that he might be sent as a missionary to the far-off Philippines. John was not sure either about his vocation, so he waited, was drafted into the Army, and in March of 1945, was killed in action at Fort Stotsenberg, behind what is now Clark Field; he is buried at Fort McKinley. He was 20 years of age.

Posted: April 2nd, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Meaning beyond mystery

By

The “Three Kings,” or more properly the “wise men,” had a problem. Their study of the stars had told them that a great king had been born in Judea, and they had set out on a long and dangerous journey, following his star, to find him and do him honor. Strangely, neither King Herod nor the experts in the Jewish Scriptures knew anything of such a birth. And strangest of all, the star led them not to a royal palace but to a simple peasant house among other peasant houses.

Posted: January 9th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The saddest and most meaningful Christmas

By

Heart-rending pictures and stories of the flood victims in Northern Mindanao become even more so amid the lights and laughter, good food and family gatherings of the Christmas season. In my case, they also bring back recollections of 30 years ago.

Posted: December 28th, 2011 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Good question

By ,

In the ongoing debate on the reproductive health bill, Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile challenged the figures on induced abortion in the Philippines being cited by proponents of the bill. A good question, since the number of 500,000 or more has echoed from columnist to columnist and activist to activist so often that few stop [...]

Posted: October 5th, 2011 in Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Maid confesses in killing of 2 and stabbing of employer in Laguna
  • N. Korea finally offers condolences over ferry tragedy
  • 16 CADPI sugar refinery workers now out of danger after toxic shower in Batangas
  • PNP denies Purisima’s involvement in questionable deal with courier firm
  • Pro-Russian insurgents hold journalist hostage
  • Sports

  • UP nips St. Benilde; Adamson blasts RTU in Filoil women’s caging
  • Kevin Garnett responds to Raptors’ GM F word
  • Albert Pujols hits 500th HR of major league career
  • UST posts twin kill in Filoil pre-season cup opening day
  • Wizards beat Bulls in OT to take 2-0 series lead
  • Lifestyle

  • Entering the monkhood a rite of passage
  • Haneda International Airport: A destination on its own
  • Wanted: Beauty queen with a heart that beats for the environment
  • Kim Atienza: At home with art and design
  • Life lessons I want to teach my son
  • Entertainment

  • Bollywood Oscars, film stars come to Florida
  • Ex-Fox exec denies allegations in sex abuse suit
  • Kris Aquino backtracks, says Herbert Bautista and her are ‘best friends’
  • Summer preview: Chris Pratt enters a new ‘Galaxy’
  • Bon Jovi helps open low-income housing in US
  • Business

  • SM to rebuild Tacloban hospital
  • PSEi slips after 4-day rally
  • Toyota sells 2.58 million vehicles, outselling GM
  • McDonald’s 1Q profit slips as US sales decline
  • SEC approves SM’s P15B retail bond offer
  • Technology

  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Engineers create a world of difference
  • Bam Aquino becomes Master Splinter’s son after Wiki hack
  • Mark Caguioa lambasts Ginebra teammates on Twitter
  • Opinion

  • One-dimensional diplomacy: A cost-benefit analysis of Manila’s security deal with Washington
  • No ordinary illness
  • Reforest mountains with fire trees and their kind
  • Day of the Earth
  • When will Chinese firm deliver new coaches?
  • Global Nation

  • Filipinos coming home from Mideast must obtain MERS clearance – DOH
  • US Secret Service in Manila ahead of Obama visit
  • Palace thanks Estrada for successful HK mission
  • Hong Kong accepts PH apology; sanctions also lifted
  • China won’t budge, wants PH gov’t to apologize to HK
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement