Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “John J. Carroll S.J.” - Commentary

‘Miracle’ at Edsa?

By

I am uncomfortable with throwing around the word “miracle” too easily. In many cases I prefer to speak of Divine Providence, working in history and bringing together a series of contingent—might have been different—events and human decisions to bring about a definite outcome. Let us look at the Edsa 1986 event and some of the happenings and decisions that led to it.

Posted: March 1st, 2014 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

A discerning Church

By

DON’T EXPECT Pope Francis to soften the Church’s teaching on abortion anytime soon. In a talk last Sept. 20 to gynecologists, he insisted: “Every unborn child, condemned unjustly to being aborted, has the face of the Lord, who before being born, and then when he was just born, experienced the rejection of the world.”

Posted: September 30th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Walking the thin line

By

Has Cardinal Luis Tagle been reading Inquirer columnist Randy David? Seems so, from an interview with Juan Pablo Salud published in Philippines Graphic (Jan. 27).

Posted: February 22nd, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Why I shall spoil my ballot

By

Yes, I am still an American citizen, waiting these many years for permanent-resident status as a step toward Philippine citizenship. I follow American political developments, although not as closely as those of my adopted country.

Posted: November 4th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

88 and counting, but slowly

By

Sadness and satisfaction. Two feelings struggle within me as our institute turns over the feeding program at Nazareno Chapel in Payatas to the local parish. Sadness because it means closing the book on our earliest social program there, one that has occupied my time and attention for some 25 years. Satisfaction because the parish of Our Lady of Divine Providence is ready to take over.

Posted: June 25th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • ‘Pork funds loose change’
  • Pasay ‘cable guys’ strike again
  • Did you know: 157th birth anniversary of Juan Luna
  • HEARD ON RADYO INQUIRER 990AM
  • Won’t tolerate Binay camp’s lies, says Trillanes
  • Sports

  • IEM dismantles FEU in three straight sets
  • Army redeems two-set blunder, overcomes Cagayan in five sets
  • Sharapova blows chance at year-end number one
  • PBA’s Danny Ildefonso drops charges vs ‘peeping tom’
  • Schumacher’s doctor sees progress after injury
  • Lifestyle

  • Filipinos have worst health habits in Asia, says study
  • Heartbroken Chinese woman drowns sorrow eating at KFC
  • No sex please, you’re students—Zimbabwe university
  • A week on the road in North Korea
  • Mama Sita’s brings PH flavors to the world’s most prestigious food expo – The 2014 SIAL Paris
  • Entertainment

  • Why Derek Ramsay has to keep going, and how he does it
  • Michael Keaton soars as ‘Birdman,’ recalls being almost naked in Times Square
  • Why some TV shows have ‘legs’
  • Kamote, October 24, 2014
  • A. Lipin, October 24, 2014
  • Business

  • Regulator keeps interest rates steady
  • New capital rules seen too taxing for banks
  • Stocks lose ground
  • Imported car sales up 19% in 9 months
  • Apec finance chiefs aim for more PPP investments
  • Technology

  • LTFRB goes after Uber vehicles; MMDA disagrees
  • SC: Privacy laws do not apply on Facebook photos freely uploaded by Internet users
  • Google offers peek into Bhutan with Street View launch
  • Driver of private car using Uber app nabbed in LTFRB sting
  • Zuckerberg speaks Chinese; Beijing students cheer
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, October 24, 2014
  • Focus on the killing
  • The ‘mystery man’ behind Binay
  • Binay trapped in pincers
  • The ‘unwilling’ and the ‘ungrateful’
  • Global Nation

  • US move to protect Pemberton to weaken Filipinos’ trust in VFA, Edca—Arroyo
  • Family drops cremation plan for Jennifer Laude
  • Moscow-Cebu flights start December until May 2015
  • De Lima notes some ambiguous provisions in VFA
  • Foreign maids endure abuse in UAE—Human Rights Watch
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement