Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Fr. Jerry M. Orbos SVD” - Moments

Shallow and narrow

By

The story is told about a man who went to a drug store to buy vitamins for his child. When asked if he was looking for Vitamin A, or B, or C, his response was: “It does not matter. My little boy still doesn’t know the alphabet, anyway.”

Posted: October 19th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Generosity 101

By

Last week I told a confrere who was a little hard of hearing that I was invited to lead a pilgrimage to Turkey and Greece, and the Holy Land. He looked at me and said, “Yes, when you eat turkey, you will have grease on your hands.”

Posted: October 12th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Payback, not kickback, time

By

Have you ever wondered why a male dog lifts one of its hind legs while urinating? According to a story I heard, a dog once urinated on a wall, and the wall collapsed. Lucky for him, he survived, and from that time on he told his fellow dogs to make sure that they protect themselves from any wall, post, or tree by lifting one of their hind legs while urinating.

Posted: October 5th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Change of mind

By

According to a story I heard, the Japanese whisky Suntory got its name because the owner of the company had three sons (“son three”)—hence, Suntory! I also heard that the name of the Japanese car Datsun came about when American engineers exclaimed “That soon?!” after hearing how fast the Japanese could assemble a car.

Posted: September 28th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

God’s Word and work

By

The latest news I heard is that there will soon be cell phones equipped with airbags. This is to ensure the safety of people who send text messages even while walking, and also to provide a pillow for those who doze off from too much texting!

Posted: September 21st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Won’t tolerate Binay camp’s lies, says Trillanes
  • UPLB provides shuttle service, sets ‘curfew’ after rape incident
  • Santiago wants Binay-Trillanes debate televised to see who lies
  • October 2014 Registered Electrical Engineers and Registered Master Electricians Licensure Examinations
  • CA confirms promotion of Army general blamed for Maguindanao massacre, 88 others
  • Sports

  • Army redeems two-set blunder, overcomes Cagayan in five sets
  • Sharapova blows chance at year-end number one
  • PBA’s Danny Ildefonso drops charges vs ‘peeping tom’
  • Schumacher’s doctor sees progress after injury
  • Lions complete ‘5-peat’
  • Lifestyle

  • Filipinos have worst health habits in Asia, says study
  • Heartbroken Chinese woman drowns sorrow eating at KFC
  • No sex please, you’re students—Zimbabwe university
  • A week on the road in North Korea
  • Mama Sita’s brings PH flavors to the world’s most prestigious food expo – The 2014 SIAL Paris
  • Entertainment

  • Cherie Gil says sorry to Vice Ganda over ‘scum’ tweet
  • Italy’s singing nun covers Madonna’s ‘Like A Virgin’
  • ‘Grimm’ Season 4 debuts Sunday
  • Doors that ‘Saigon’ opened for Rachelle
  • A thoroughly Asian fest for the region and beyond
  • Business

  • DOT to release new star ratings of PH hotels, resorts
  • EU, PCCI ask PH gov’t for trade facilitation measures
  • EU not keen on Customs pre-shipment inspection amid port congestion
  • URC, Danone sign joint venture to manufacture beverages in PH
  • SSI Group prices IPO at ‘upper end’ P7.50 per share
  • Technology

  • SC: Privacy laws do not apply on Facebook photos freely uploaded by Internet users
  • Google offers peek into Bhutan with Street View launch
  • Driver of private car using Uber app nabbed in LTFRB sting
  • Zuckerberg speaks Chinese; Beijing students cheer
  • Apple computer sells for record $905K in NY–Bonhams
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, October 23, 2014
  • Truck ban
  • To have peace, there must be justice
  • Double entendre
  • Binay’s politics
  • Global Nation

  • US move to protect Pemberton to weaken Filipinos’ trust in VFA, Edca—Arroyo
  • Family drops cremation plan for Jennifer Laude
  • Moscow-Cebu flights start December until May 2015
  • De Lima notes some ambiguous provisions in VFA
  • Foreign maids endure abuse in UAE—Human Rights Watch
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement