Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Fr. Jerry M. Orbos SVD” - Moments

Moving on

By

The story is told about a man who informed his wife that he was taking the 9 a.m. flight to Shanghai. Unfortunately, the plane crashed and neither the plane nor the survivors could be found. The end? No. because instead of taking the 9 a.m. flight to Shanghai, the husband took the 9 a.m. flight to Osaka, Japan, with his girlfriend. He is alive! The problem is: How will he explain that to his wife?!

Posted: April 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

See you!

By

The story is told about a policeman who flagged down a driver for a traffic violation. The policeman said: “You made a U turn. Did you not see the ‘no U turn’ sign?” The driver scratched his head and said: “I saw it, sir. I did not see you!”

Posted: April 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

On death and dying

By

The story is told about family members who were preparing for the burial of their loved one and were perturbed when the lector said: “Let us pray for the INTERNAL rest of our brother and for the REFUSE of his soul.” It did not help any when the priest, in his homily, using the analogy of the peanut to explain death, pointed at the coffin and said: “Brothers and sisters, what we see here is just the SHELL. The NUT is gone!”

Posted: April 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Insight

By

The story is told about a senior citizen who asked his drinking buddies, one on his left and one on his right: “Did you spill beer on my pants?” When the two said no, he said: “Then it must have been an inside job!”

Posted: March 30th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Irreplaceable

By

The story is told about a woman whose boyfriend whom she loved very much just died. Then her rich suitor of many years called her up and said: “Now that your boyfriend is dead, I would like to express my condolences and my intention to take his place.” The woman answered: “Thank you. I will now call the funeral home and tell them of your intention to take his place.”

Posted: March 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

At the mountaintop

By

The story is told by Fr. Rod Salazar, SVD, about a husband who made a toast to his wife on their 50th wedding anniversary: “Cheers to my wife whose love for me has been tried and true!” To which the wife, who was a little hard of hearing, responded: “Yes, I’m tired of you, too!”

Posted: March 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Let it go!

By

The story is told about a teenager who asked his father: “Dad, is it okay to smoke while I am praying?” The father replied: “That is not okay, my son.” Added the son: “But is it okay to pray while I am smoking?” The father answered: “That is okay, my son.”

Posted: March 9th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Back to basics

By

The story is told about two monks who were having a hearty conversation on Christmas Eve, the only time of the year when they were exempted from their monastic rule of perpetual silence. Just then the bell rang, signaling the end of their talking time. When the two of them met again on Christmas Eve of the next year, the first monk enthusiastically started: “Ah, as I was saying last year…”

Posted: March 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The extra (s)mile

By

The story is told about a rapist who was sentenced to life imprisonment. Upon hearing the verdict, he shouted in a rage: “I raped one person. How come the people of the Republic of the Philippines are now all against me?”

Posted: February 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Heartprints

By

The story is told about a family that was so engrossed with details as their father lay dying in his hospital bed. When the family members asked him whether he wanted to be buried or cremated, the old man told them in exasperation to make the decision themselves: “Bahala na kayo, mga anak. Just surprise me na lang, okay?”

Posted: February 15th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Salt and light

By

The story is told about a German pastor who was to speak at a gathering, and who requested the emcee to make a simple and basic introduction of him sans titles or achievements, to just say that he is a humble shepherd or something to that effect. So the emcee said: “Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce to you our speaker, a simple German shepherd!”

Posted: February 8th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Present!

By

The story is told about a dying woman who told her children: “When I die, have my remains cremated, and have my ashes scattered in the mall nearby.” When her children asked her why, her response was: “In that way, I know you will always be present and visit me at least once a week.”

Posted: February 1st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Russia not abiding by agreement on Ukraine—Obama
  • Magnitude 6.7 quake off British Columbia coast
  • Blue ribbon committee not yet recalling Napoles
  • Ex-church leader nabbed for selling drugs
  • Camilla’s brother dies in US after head injury
  • Sports

  • Benzema guides Madrid to 1-0 win over Bayern
  • Suns’ Goran Dragic win NBA’s Most Improved Player award
  • Heat go up 2-0, hold off Bobcats 101-97
  • Ronaldo shakes off injury fears to play Bayern
  • Mavs roll past Spurs 113-92, even series at 1-1
  • Lifestyle

  • Photos explore dynamics of youths’ sexual identity
  • 12th Philippine Food Expo set at the World Trade Center
  • No tourist draw, Malang the croc will remain wild
  • The best flavors of summer in one bite, and more
  • Homemade yogurt, bread blended with pizza, even ramen
  • Entertainment

  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • Sony developing live-action Barbie comedy
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Return of ‘Ibong Adarna’
  • Practical Phytos plans his future
  • Business

  • Facebook profits triple as mobile soars
  • Insular Honors Sales Performers at Testimonial Rites
  • Apple increases stock buyback, will split stock
  • Cost-recovery provisions for affected gencos urged
  • This time, BIR goes after florists
  • Technology

  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Engineers create a world of difference
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 24, 2014
  • Talking to Janet
  • Respite
  • Bucket list
  • JPII in 1981: walking a tightrope
  • Global Nation

  • Filipinos in Middle East urged to get clearance before returning
  • PH seeks ‘clearer assurance’ from US
  • China and rivals sign naval pact to ease maritime tensions
  • What Went Before: Manila bus hostage crisis
  • Obama arrives in Tokyo, first stop of 4-nation tour
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement