Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Fr. Jerry M. Orbos SVD” - Moments

See you!

By

The story is told about a policeman who flagged down a driver for a traffic violation. The policeman said: “You made a U turn. Did you not see the ‘no U turn’ sign?” The driver scratched his head and said: “I saw it, sir. I did not see you!”

Posted: April 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

On death and dying

By

The story is told about family members who were preparing for the burial of their loved one and were perturbed when the lector said: “Let us pray for the INTERNAL rest of our brother and for the REFUSE of his soul.” It did not help any when the priest, in his homily, using the analogy of the peanut to explain death, pointed at the coffin and said: “Brothers and sisters, what we see here is just the SHELL. The NUT is gone!”

Posted: April 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Insight

By

The story is told about a senior citizen who asked his drinking buddies, one on his left and one on his right: “Did you spill beer on my pants?” When the two said no, he said: “Then it must have been an inside job!”

Posted: March 30th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Irreplaceable

By

The story is told about a woman whose boyfriend whom she loved very much just died. Then her rich suitor of many years called her up and said: “Now that your boyfriend is dead, I would like to express my condolences and my intention to take his place.” The woman answered: “Thank you. I will now call the funeral home and tell them of your intention to take his place.”

Posted: March 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

At the mountaintop

By

The story is told by Fr. Rod Salazar, SVD, about a husband who made a toast to his wife on their 50th wedding anniversary: “Cheers to my wife whose love for me has been tried and true!” To which the wife, who was a little hard of hearing, responded: “Yes, I’m tired of you, too!”

Posted: March 16th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Let it go!

By

The story is told about a teenager who asked his father: “Dad, is it okay to smoke while I am praying?” The father replied: “That is not okay, my son.” Added the son: “But is it okay to pray while I am smoking?” The father answered: “That is okay, my son.”

Posted: March 9th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Back to basics

By

The story is told about two monks who were having a hearty conversation on Christmas Eve, the only time of the year when they were exempted from their monastic rule of perpetual silence. Just then the bell rang, signaling the end of their talking time. When the two of them met again on Christmas Eve of the next year, the first monk enthusiastically started: “Ah, as I was saying last year…”

Posted: March 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The extra (s)mile

By

The story is told about a rapist who was sentenced to life imprisonment. Upon hearing the verdict, he shouted in a rage: “I raped one person. How come the people of the Republic of the Philippines are now all against me?”

Posted: February 23rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Heartprints

By

The story is told about a family that was so engrossed with details as their father lay dying in his hospital bed. When the family members asked him whether he wanted to be buried or cremated, the old man told them in exasperation to make the decision themselves: “Bahala na kayo, mga anak. Just surprise me na lang, okay?”

Posted: February 15th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Salt and light

By

The story is told about a German pastor who was to speak at a gathering, and who requested the emcee to make a simple and basic introduction of him sans titles or achievements, to just say that he is a humble shepherd or something to that effect. So the emcee said: “Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce to you our speaker, a simple German shepherd!”

Posted: February 8th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Present!

By

The story is told about a dying woman who told her children: “When I die, have my remains cremated, and have my ashes scattered in the mall nearby.” When her children asked her why, her response was: “In that way, I know you will always be present and visit me at least once a week.”

Posted: February 1st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Walk on

By

The story is told about a man who, realizing that walking as a form of exercise is good for his health, started walking at the age of 65. We heard that up to now, he is still walking; he is nowhere to be found, and his relatives are looking for him.

Posted: January 25th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • AFP: Abu Sayyaf group, not MILF, target of Basilan operation
  • Massive infra spending set
  • DOJ to NBI: Arrest Cedric Lee, 4 others
  • Metro residents brace for long, ‘dry’ spell
  • MMDA: Avoid Edsa, take alternate routes
  • Sports

  • Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  • Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  • PSC sets Blu Girls US training
  • Power Pinoys settle for 7th place
  • Successful coaches to get raise
  • Lifestyle

  • Are your favorite malls open this Holy Week break?
  • Celebrate Easter Sunday at Buddha-Bar Manila
  • Moriones feast: A slow, steady transformation
  • Weaving ‘palaspas’ a tradition kept alive in Tayabas City
  • Finalists announced for best translated books
  • Entertainment

  • Why Lucky has not bought an engagement ring for Angel
  • Derek more private with new girlfriend
  • ‘Community’ star happy with return of show’s creator
  • Jealousy is kid stuff
  • Mommy-daughter adventure continues
  • Business

  • PH presses bid to keep rice import controls
  • PSEi continues to gain
  • Number of retrenched workers rose by 42% in ’13
  • PH seen to sustain rise in FDIs
  • Gov’t subsidies to state firms fell in first 2 months
  • Technology

  • Smart phone apps and sites perfect for the Holy Week
  • Tech company: Change passwords or suffer ‘Heartbleed’
  • Filling the digital talent gap
  • SSS to shut down website for Holy Week
  • Another reason to quit social media this Holy Week: your safety
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • First Fil-Am elected to Sierra Madre, Calif. city council
  • UC Irvine cultural night to dramatize clash of values in immigrant family
  • Filipino sweets and info served at UC Berkeley Spring Fest
  • Milpitas, California kids wrap up a successful run of ‘The Wiz’
  • Netizens welcome Japan’s visa-free travel plan
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement