Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Fr. Jerry M. OrbosSVD” - Moments

In our small way

By ,

The story is told about an Ilocano who donated blood for a German who needed surgery. He was thrifty and frugal, so imagine his surprise when the German gave him a BMW out of gratitude. Later he donated blood again, but this time the German gifted him with fruits and a thank-you card. When he asked the German why, the latter said: “That’s because I now have Ilocano blood within me!”

Posted: July 20th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Hearing and remembering

By ,

Theh story is told about a senior citizen who frantically reported to the police that he couldn’t find his car keys and his car in the mall parking lot. He then called his wife and told her of his predicament, but before he could finish, she said: “Didn’t you hear what I said before I dropped you off that I will come back for you? Now will you please come and tell this policeman who stopped me that I have not stolen your car!”

Posted: July 13th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Loaded

By ,

The story is told about a group of priests who were engrossed in a “weighty” subject matter. One of them said, “My doctor told me I am obese.” Another said, “I am obese 1.” And the next said, “I am obese 2!” Just then, the bishop walked in and they asked him if he was obese. And his response was: “Yes I am Obispo!”

Posted: July 6th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Heart to heart

By ,

The story is told about a priest who was preaching about loving one’s enemies. When he asked the gathered faithful who among them had plenty of enemies, no hand was raised. When he asked who among them had a few enemies, a few raised their hands. When he asked who among them had no enemies, an old parishioner raised his hand. When the priest asked him why, he said, “Father, I am 102 years old, and all my enemies are dead.”

Posted: June 29th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Real presence

By ,

The story is told about a priest who asked a candidate for adult baptism: “Are you already prepared for baptism?” The man answered: “Yes, Father, we already have the pulutan (appetizers), and we already have contacted a caterer.” The priest said: “I mean, are you prepared in spirit?” To which the man responded:  “Oh yes, […]

Posted: June 22nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Won’t tolerate Binay camp’s lies, says Trillanes
  • UPLB provides shuttle service, sets ‘curfew’ after rape incident
  • Santiago wants Binay-Trillanes debate televised to see who lies
  • October 2014 Registered Electrical Engineers and Registered Master Electricians Licensure Examinations
  • CA confirms promotion of Army general blamed for Maguindanao massacre, 88 others
  • Sports

  • IEM dismantles FEU in three straight sets
  • Army redeems two-set blunder, overcomes Cagayan in five sets
  • Sharapova blows chance at year-end number one
  • PBA’s Danny Ildefonso drops charges vs ‘peeping tom’
  • Schumacher’s doctor sees progress after injury
  • Lifestyle

  • Filipinos have worst health habits in Asia, says study
  • Heartbroken Chinese woman drowns sorrow eating at KFC
  • No sex please, you’re students—Zimbabwe university
  • A week on the road in North Korea
  • Mama Sita’s brings PH flavors to the world’s most prestigious food expo – The 2014 SIAL Paris
  • Entertainment

  • Why Derek Ramsay has to keep going, and how he does it
  • Michael Keaton soars as ‘Birdman,’ recalls being almost naked in Times Square
  • Why some TV shows have ‘legs’
  • Kamote, October 24, 2014
  • A. Lipin, October 24, 2014
  • Business

  • New capital rules seen too taxing for banks
  • Stocks lose ground
  • Imported car sales up 19% in 9 months
  • Apec finance chiefs aim for more PPP investments
  • CAB eyes fuel surcharge on Japan, Taiwan flights
  • Technology

  • LTFRB goes after Uber vehicles; MMDA disagrees
  • SC: Privacy laws do not apply on Facebook photos freely uploaded by Internet users
  • Google offers peek into Bhutan with Street View launch
  • Driver of private car using Uber app nabbed in LTFRB sting
  • Zuckerberg speaks Chinese; Beijing students cheer
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, October 23, 2014
  • Truck ban
  • To have peace, there must be justice
  • Double entendre
  • Binay’s politics
  • Global Nation

  • US move to protect Pemberton to weaken Filipinos’ trust in VFA, Edca—Arroyo
  • Family drops cremation plan for Jennifer Laude
  • Moscow-Cebu flights start December until May 2015
  • De Lima notes some ambiguous provisions in VFA
  • Foreign maids endure abuse in UAE—Human Rights Watch
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement