Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Fr. Jerry M. Orbos” - Moments

Talk and talk

By

The story is told about a man who lay dying on his hospital bed. All the family members around him were crying, talking, and wailing. He tried desperately to say something but no one could hear him. It turned out he was saying that he could not breathe because someone had accidentally kicked and unplugged the respirator!

Posted: November 23rd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Beyond ‘Yolanda’

By

The story is told about two children discussing their problematic parents who were always quarreling. The first one said: “When our parents die, do you think they will still meet and recognize each other in heaven?” The second one said: “I don’t think so. That’s why it is called heaven!”

Posted: November 9th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Humble and free

By

The story is told about a boy who asked his father: “Dad, what is sex?” Thinking that the time had come for him to explain the facts and realities of life, the father said: “Son, sex is an act between two people, and it is done not before or outside marriage, and it eventually will result in new life, and creation goes on.”

Posted: October 27th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Selfie’

By

The story is told about a priest who had difficulty in getting a good collection in his Sunday Mass. How did he solve it? He instructed his two altar boys to take up the collection pew by pew at the offertory. When someone puts in a small amount, one altar boy rings a small bell that sounds like “Katiting (Very small)!” and the other beats a gong that sounds like “Dagdagan (Give some more)!”

Posted: September 28th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Strengthening the family

By

The story is told about a teacher who asked his students: “If K9 refers to the family or offspring of dogs, what family or offspring does K10 refer to?” One student stood up and said: “K10? Cats, ma’am!”

Posted: December 29th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

In haste

By

The story is told about an elderly citizen who was stopped by the police for speeding. When asked why he was in such haste, his answer was: “Sir, I was in a hurry to go to where I was going before I forget where I was going!”

Posted: December 22nd, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Evergreens for our King

By

The story is told about a tourist guide who was busy giving a talk to his group, when suddenly his cell phone rang. His two hands were full, and he could not respond to the call. What he did next was most unexpected: He licked the phone with his tongue to swipe it open, and proceeded to answer the call!

Posted: November 24th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Sincerity of heart

By

The story is told about a little girl who prayed: “Lord, I’m running late for the Mass. Please help me!” As soon as she said that, she tripped and fell to the ground. Whereupon she said: “Lord, I asked you to help me, not push me!”

Posted: November 10th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Just keep on loving

By

The story is told about two old men having a talk at a bar. The first one said: “Hey, did you know that Christmas Day will fall on a Friday this year?” The second man said: “Really? I hope it will not be Friday the 13th!”

Posted: November 3rd, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Dissolution is not the solution

By

The story is told about a wife who frantically called her husband: “Joe, come home quickly. I don’t know what to do! Your children and my children are fighting our children!”

Posted: October 6th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Pandesal mentality’

By

Someone sent me this text message: “If you eat litson baboy (roasted pig), you eat pork. If you eat litson baka (roasted cow), you eat beef. So if you eat litson kawali… you eat a frying pan?!”

Posted: August 19th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Jesus’ dream

By

The story is told about a teacher who asked her students what their dreams were. Miguel said he wanted to become a doctor. Rose said she wanted to become an accountant. Claro said he wanted to become a lawyer. And Nenita said she simply wanted to have many children. When the teacher asked Isko what his dream was, his answer was: “Ma’am, I just want to help Nenita in her dream.”

Posted: August 11th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Man wins half marathon, dies in Argentina
  • Clouds to bring slight relief from summer heat
  • Canadians rally to legalize marijuana
  • S. Korea ferry transcript reveals evacuation panic
  • Obama, family cause a small stir at Easter service
  • Sports

  • Reigning champs Miami open playoffs with win
  • Spurs subdue Mavericks in playoff opener
  • Wawrinka beats Federer to win Monte Carlo Masters
  • Ageless Hopkins pitches 50-50 Mayweather deal
  • Goodbye MGM, Las Vegas for Pacquiao?
  • Lifestyle

  • Miss America: Don’t suspend teen over prom invite
  • Transitions and resurrection in the performing arts
  • ‘Archaeology tour’ of Cebu’s heritage of faith
  • Historic Fort Bonifacio tunnel converted into a septic tank
  • ‘Imports’ from London, and play of the year
  • Entertainment

  • ‘Captain America’ stays strong atop US box office
  • Easter musings
  • Solenn in shorts
  • Unmerry mix of attention-calling moves on ‘Mini-Me’ TV tilts
  • Persistence pays off for The 1975
  • Business

  • BDO seen keen on bidding for Cocobank
  • Bataan freeport investment pledges up 1,302%
  • Golden Week
  • Bourse to woo Cebu stock mart investors
  • Supper power
  • Technology

  • Nasa’s moon-orbiting robot crashes down
  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Opinion

  • Gigi’s home
  • Palace stonewalls on MRT inquiry
  • Couple of things too
  • There is plenty of water behind Wawa Dam
  • Triduum thoughts of a young boy
  • Global Nation

  • Search for Etihad passengers launched
  • Japan presents $57-B ‘dream plan’ to solve Metro congestion
  • Tim Tebow’s charity hospital in Davao seen to open in 7 months
  • OFW died of Mers-CoV in Saudi Arabia, says family
  • Aquino, Obama to tackle US pivot to Asia during state visit
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement