Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Danilo G. Mendiola” - High blood

Walks of life

By

Walking for one hour every morning has been part of my regimen since my open-heart coronary artery bypass surgery in 2007.

Posted: July 7th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Being Filipino in Honolulu

By

I was not given the traditional Hawaiian lei when I set foot for the first time at the Honolulu International Airport late in August 2006, but I brightened up when I heard the taxi driver, speaking in a familiar accent, asking me where I came from.

Posted: June 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Once upon a Vietnamese refugee camp

By

We all have stories from the past that are just waiting to be told. I think of stories of the “boat people” I met at the Vietnamese refugee camp in Palawan, where I worked as a resettlement counselor for the United Nations High Commissioner on Refugees (UNHCR) in 1986. They were tales of family separation, of incredible afflictions during the escape, of lives of misery in communist Vietnam. But they were also tales of friendship, of courage, of hope, and of love.

Posted: June 2nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Memorable May

By

The month of May touches a sensitive place in my heart as it holds the more memorable events of my checkered life as a boy and a young adult.

Posted: May 2nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Coming home

By

I HAVE lived most of my life in Metro Manila except for some seven years spent as a missionary in Mindanao. For some reason, however, to this day I consider San Jose in Nueva Ecija my “hometown.”   Early this month my siblings and I, together with our respective families, traced once more “the way […]

Posted: November 29th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Visits continue at 80-yr-old grave in Baguio
  • DILG asked to settle mayoral row in Tarlac
  • 3,000 troops secure 104 Pampanga cemeteries
  • Riding in the truck–with the spirits
  • Rice smuggle raps filed vs ‘David Tan’
  • Sports

  • Aces shoot lights out of Bolts, seize lead
  • A time to remember and reflect
  • Age-group wars fire off PCA Open
  • ‘All In’ charity game set
  • CV tossers too classy for Meralco
  • Lifestyle

  • Dadap’s musical ‘Andres Bonifacio: Ang Dakilang Anak-Pawis’ to be presented anew
  • Gina and Racquel Pareño: Mother and daughter take to the stage
  • On the street where I live, the Bulldogs have always been champions
  • Community arts festival Fringe Manila to debut in February 2015, now accepting registrations
  • Church warns yoga, feng shui practitioners
  • Entertainment

  • Mark Bautista rides dictator’s coattails to West End
  • Stars in the news
  • ‘Walking Dead’ creator isn’t dark and brooding
  • Tom Hanks gets serious
  • Managing hypertension
  • Business

  • ‘Now is the best time to invest in PH’
  • Growth in money supply slowed in September
  • BPI opens office in Japan
  • Brokerage house remains bullish on property sector
  • PH turns over Angat hydro plant to K-Water
  • Technology

  • Focus on social listening
  • Co-creator of Android mobile software leaves Google
  • Smartphone sales lifted by emerging markets
  • Computers help search for the dead
  • 9 common scams on social media
  • Opinion

  • Poor and hungry
  • ‘Our place in Batangas’
  • Rizal on All Saints’ Day and dances with mortality
  • Editorial Cartoon, November 1, 2014
  • Inclusive corruption
  • Global Nation

  • Filipino grandpa, 2 family members slain in South Seattle murder-suicide
  • Sueselbeck deportation a ‘win-win’ situation–military
  • MIAA suspends fare, terminal fee integration order
  • Pasay court stops planned integration of terminal fee into airfare
  • Sueselbeck visits Laude grave on eve of return to Germany
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement