Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Danilo G. Mendiola” - High blood

December on my mind

By

Now that All Saints’ Day or “Undas” is over and done with, I turn my thoughts to December, the 12th and last month of the year.

Posted: November 10th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Walks of life

By

Walking for one hour every morning has been part of my regimen since my open-heart coronary artery bypass surgery in 2007.

Posted: July 7th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Being Filipino in Honolulu

By

I was not given the traditional Hawaiian lei when I set foot for the first time at the Honolulu International Airport late in August 2006, but I brightened up when I heard the taxi driver, speaking in a familiar accent, asking me where I came from.

Posted: June 2nd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Once upon a Vietnamese refugee camp

By

We all have stories from the past that are just waiting to be told. I think of stories of the “boat people” I met at the Vietnamese refugee camp in Palawan, where I worked as a resettlement counselor for the United Nations High Commissioner on Refugees (UNHCR) in 1986. They were tales of family separation, of incredible afflictions during the escape, of lives of misery in communist Vietnam. But they were also tales of friendship, of courage, of hope, and of love.

Posted: June 2nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Memorable May

By

The month of May touches a sensitive place in my heart as it holds the more memorable events of my checkered life as a boy and a young adult.

Posted: May 2nd, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Partly cloudy Monday for Metro; rain over Southern Tagalog, Bicol, Samar
  • Newborn found in Australia drain
  • Obama immigration plan good, not great for economy
  • UK police: up to 5 terror plots foiled this year
  • Nigeria: Dozens dead in suspected extremist attack
  • Sports

  • Pressure builds after Pacquiao win for Mayweather
  • Pacquiao outclasses rival in title bout
  • Filipino pride surges anew
  • Texters blast Energy; Hotshots edge Bolts
  • Azkals on top as rivals draw
  • Lifestyle

  • Artists, designers rally to raise awareness on disaster preparedness
  • El Hogar demolition ‘imminent,’ heritage advocates warn
  • No ‘Gray’ areas in new John Grisham novel
  • León’s Kingly Treasures Auction features exquisite antiques
  • Physician-sculptor finds beauty in nature’s flaws
  • Entertainment

  • Proudly Pinoy ‘Priscilla’ back after hit S’pore run
  • The transformation of Timmy Cruz
  • Revisiting ‘Penthouse Live’
  • ‘Chicago’ as tribute to a beloved mentor
  • Love Knots, November 24, 2014
  • Business

  • Gov’t set to rebid Calax in mid-2015
  • AirAsia eyes additional South Korea flights, opposed
  • Banks’ profitability seen to improve in coming year
  • Banks to adopt new technology on credit cards
  • Bill threatens PH commercial fishing sector
  • Technology

  • Kidnappers scanning social networks for potential victims – PNP
  • Netizens cheer Pacquiao win, tell Mayweather ‘you’re next’
  • Facebook ‘newspaper’ spells trouble for media
  • Biotechnology for a better life for Filipinos explained
  • App linking overseas Filipinos to homeland launched in D.C.
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, November 24, 2014
  • Justice as tragedy
  • PH has slowest justice system in the world
  • Random thoughts
  • The Sunni arc of instability
  • Global Nation

  • Japanese ‘samurai’ who fled to PH may be made a saint
  • Taiwanese boat crew faces smuggle raps
  • Christmas comes early in Macau
  • Fil-Ams, immigrants hail Obama’s exec order, seek more inclusive reform
  • Francisco retail workers may get a bill of rights
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement