Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Cielito F. Habito” - No Free Lunch

Are we overtaxed?

By

Today being the last day for filing income tax returns, and given the pinch (bite?) that comes with this annual ritual, perhaps a great many of us would readily answer the above question in the affirmative. Interestingly, even our tax authorities may actually agree, as Internal Revenue Commissioner Kim Henares has recently been quoted as if to suggest so. This came in reaction to Senate Bill No. 2149 recently filed by Ways and Means Committee chair, Sen. Sonny Angara, proposing to reduce the top income tax rate from 32 to 25 percent. Earlier, Senators Ralph Recto and Bam Aquino had filed SB 749 and SB 1942, respectively, both also proposing to adjust income tax rates to “reflect new realities.”

Posted: April 15th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Bangsamoro’s economic prospects

By

Hopes run high that the newly signed Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro (CAB) will pave the way for a new era of economic dynamism in Muslim Mindanao. With violent political conflict hopefully now behind us, departure from the economic stagnation that marked the region’s recent history could yet turn it into a vanguard of growth for Mindanao and the entire national economy.

Posted: April 8th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

The challenge of inclusive finance

By

Access to financial capital, or lack of it, could well be the single most critical factor that has widened the gap between small and large farms and firms, and indeed, between the haves and have-nots. One might say finance has been the “great unequalizer” that has fostered noninclusive growth in our economy over the years.

Posted: April 1st, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Keeping kids in school

By

I recently caught a TV journalist’s encounter with three boys hauling farm produce as she chanced upon them on a mountain trail. She asked them if they go to school at all, and the boys answered yes. But they had been absent for two days to earn some money for their family. I encountered a similar case first-hand a few years ago when my research team chanced upon a little girl selling delicacies at the passenger dock in Masbate as we awaited the ferry to Pilar, Sorsogon. We were on a field study on rural poverty, and decided to interview our young subject. Asked if she goes to school, she said yes. But she had to work on that particular day, she explained, as the family direly needed money. This scenario is played out every day all over the country.

Posted: March 25th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Truck ban: the bigger picture

By

Did the city government of Manila do the right thing when it started banning heavy trucks from its streets from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. last Feb. 24? After a three-day strike by truckers, Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada allowed “window hours” from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. for trucks with loaded containers on a two-week trial period. Last week, the two-week trial was extended to six months. Still, this leaves trucks with two hours less to ply the city streets, compared to previous rules that only banned them within 6-9 a.m. and 5-9 p.m. Now the city council also wants a share of the income from port operations, citing that Manila “continues to unduly bear the brunt of very demanding and extensive port-related activities,” while its people suffer from increased traffic congestion, pollution, structural road damage and risks of vehicular accidents.

Posted: March 18th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Paradigm shifts in agriculture

By

If our economy’s brisk economic growth of late has failed to uplift the lives of far too many Filipinos, we only need to look at our farms to see why.

Posted: March 11th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

More reforms, more jobs

By

Creating more jobs, as we all know, remains the foremost challenge for our economy in the years ahead, even as brisk rates of economic growth have lately put the Philippines ahead of the pack in South East Asia, and even Asia as a whole.

Posted: March 4th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Drivers and dampeners

By

What propelled the economy in 2013? What hampered it? What will drive the economy in 2014, and what will dampen it? What do these imply, especially on how the benefits from economic growth are felt all around?

Posted: February 25th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Investments: our crying need

By

Headlines last week bannered the 27.5-percent joblessness rate reported by the Social Weather Stations (SWS) in the fourth quarter of 2013, a large jump from the 21.7 percent rate reported in the third quarter.

Posted: February 17th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Value chains for rural development

By

How much of our recent economic growth benefits the Philippine countryside? Too little, it seems. Agriculture, the most dominant economic activity in rural areas, contributed a mere 0.1 percentage point to the 6.5 percent gross domestic product growth in the final quarter of 2013, while services and industry contributed 3.5 and 2.8 percentage points respectively. This pattern of growth does nothing to make our economy’s overall brisk rate of growth permeate more widely across the country’s economic sectors and geographic areas. With 70 percent of poor Filipinos residing in rural areas, we cannot keep doing things the same way and be content with getting the same results. We simply must get the rural sector to grow and develop much faster than it has over the years.

Posted: February 11th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Sotu and Super Bowl

By

I was in Washington, DC a week ago when US President Barack Obama delivered his annual State of the Union (Sotu) address, the American counterpart to our own President’s State of the Nation Address (Sona).

Posted: February 3rd, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Painless business permits

By

I could understand why Iloilo City Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog, who is among the most business-friendly mayors I’ve known, was unhappy with my recent piece citing results of the 2011 “Doing Business” report of the International Finance Corporation (IFC).

Posted: January 27th, 2014 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • DPWH to favor road rehab over preventive maintenance in next 2 years
  • Uruguay’s leader declares $322,883 in wealth
  • Classes to resume at Pennsylvania stabbing school
  • DENR to tighten watch vs illegal logging in Davao area during Holy Week
  • SC junks Syjuco petition vs Ombudsman Act
  • Sports

  • Knicks prevent Nets from clinching fifth seed
  • Arsenal beats West Ham 3-1 in Premier League
  • Memorial service marks Hillsborough anniversary
  • My ideal weight is 140, declares Pacquiao
  • Freddie Roach: I’m satisfied; Manny Pacquiao did well
  • Lifestyle

  • Celebrate Easter Sunday at Buddha-Bar Manila
  • Moriones feast: A slow, steady transformation
  • Weaving ‘palaspas’ a tradition kept alive in Tayabas City
  • Finalists announced for best translated books
  • Summer treat for your aspiring astronomers
  • Entertainment

  • Deniece Cornejo posts bail—report
  • Miley Cyrus hospitalized, cancels US concert
  • Otaku Summer Jam 2014: Summer’s hottest J-rock/Cosplay event
  • 2NE1 returns to Manila with “All Or Nothing” Tour
  • Gary Valenciano just keeps moving
  • Business

  • I-Remit teams up with Lakhoo for remittances from Oman
  • Megawide nets P1.4 B in 2013
  • Longer TRO sought on rate hike
  • Make a stylish statement with the all-new Yaris
  • Hearing set in Olarte case
  • Technology

  • Smart phone apps and sites perfect for the Holy Week
  • Tech company: Change passwords or suffer ‘Heartbleed’
  • Filling the digital talent gap
  • SSS to shut down website for Holy Week
  • Another reason to quit social media this Holy Week: your safety
  • Opinion

  • We may never know
  • Couple of things
  • Mommy D’s magic
  • Stop bizarre and bloody Good Friday rituals
  • Holy Week taboos
  • Global Nation

  • US Embassy closed on Holy Thursday, Good Friday
  • Relief worker draws inspiration from helping Yolanda victims
  • Philippines says peace pact should hold despite clashes
  • No travel restrictions to Middle East amid MERS-CoV scare
  • Measures set against entry of MERS-CoV
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement