Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Asuncion David Maramba” - Commentary

How will the CBCP handle this?

By

What good news! Last month I asked, “Will the Francis wave flow to our shores?” Now comes the Vatican instruction to “national bishops’ conferences around the world to conduct a wide-ranging poll of Catholics asking their opinions on Church teachings.” The Vatican said the instruction should be disseminated “immediately, as widely as possible, to deaneries and parishes so that input from local sources can be received.”

Posted: December 1st, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Will the Francis wave flow to our shores?

By

“A big heart open to God,” Pope Francis’ interview by Fr. Antonio Spadaro, SJ, for 16 Jesuit publications, released a wave of reactions worldwide, ecstatic over the appearance of a beachhead.

Posted: October 14th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Cafeteria Catholics are serious Catholics’

By

Friend Dita said that, and I repeat it because “cafeteria Catholics” who exercise a degree of selection as to what they will follow are said to do so for convenience or plain disobedience.   They have been around for a long time except that now, their presence is so widespread that we cannot just look [...]

Posted: September 15th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

High hopes for the laity, too?

By

Beyond the Francis-mania, do the laity making up 99 percent of the Church hope to become more than followers and assistants of the hierarchy? Or are they content with the status quo? In our country, the answer is “yes” and “no.”

Posted: August 22nd, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Refreshing papal style makes sense

By

Never in our lifetime has a Pope spoken like Francis. Human and candid: “I need to live among people and if I lived on my own, perhaps a little isolated, it wouldn’t do me good.” “[I] had come to Rome only with the necessary clothes, I washed them at night, and suddenly this….” Like you and me, he confessed to “dozing off while praying.”

Posted: July 14th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Three 3-hectare ‘farmers’

By

The youngest and most dynamic would have to be former senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, now doing a Francis of Assisi (i.e., going back to plants and animals, short of talking to them). His Sweet Spring Country Farm (SCF, Sharon Cuneta Farm, of course) rises 1,300 feet above sea level in the cool, windy and hilly upland of Alfonso, Cavite (Flores, Philippine Star, 5/19/13).

Posted: June 20th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Church no longer exempt from scrutiny

By

“WHY WOULD someone with the name Asuncion [a great feast of Mary] find time to pass judgement on the Catholic Church?” (reaction to “Spiritual but not religious,” Inquirer, 4/27/13). Once in a while I do get such rebukes, friendly and not so. A prelate once commended me for a column but remarked that “the institution can’t be destroyed; many have tried but failed.” But he got me right; it’s the institution that I twit, not the wonderful works of the people of God. Probably for my ears, a priest said that the Church “is like an elephant”—that is, big and indestructible.

Posted: May 19th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Spiritual but not religious’

By

I am picking up a phrase from Randy David’s column “Is the Catholic Church in crisis?” (Opinion, 4/14/13): “the transformation of religious practice from one that is Church-oriented to one that is solitary and private.” One such “transformation” is going on. It’s a current trend, especially among the young, expressed in the statement “I am [...]

Posted: April 25th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

What do you think of Pope Francis?

By

That’s today’s buzz. Both hope and speculation fuel the question. Hopes are high. “He’s strong on the ‘pastoral,’” says Fr. Edwin Manio, RCJ.

Posted: April 6th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘The dark-skinned child who loved to draw’

By

Sampaloc around UST (University of Santo Tomas) was the place to be right after Liberation. It was the first area to be liberated because of the concentration camp at UST where Americans caught in the war were held; the environs teemed with GIs, schools converted into hospitals, night spots for war-weary GIs and WACs, and army vehicles.

Posted: March 6th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Priests who know who is ‘Church’

By

Yes, Virginia, hundreds of priests know who is “Church.” It’s city folk and rural folk; it’s you and me, priests included, and bishops, too. It’s people, Virginia, Vatican II’s “people of God,” not ecclesial statements many of which, of late, are hardly edifying, not the church building under continual “beautification.”

Posted: January 28th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Toast to conscience’

By

“If I’m obliged to bring religion into after-dinner toasts …. I shall drink to conscience first, and to the Pope afterwards.” That’s by Blessed Cardinal John Henry Newman. It’s good that giants of the Church make such bold statements. They protect lesser mortals from being denounced when the latter think and say likewise.   Despite [...]

Posted: December 27th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • ‘Dry spell’ delayed, thanks to busted valve
  • At 77, Erap has Easter treat for Manila cops but keeps City Hall folk in agony
  • Joy Belmonte defends council, waste-to-energy tech
  • House bill seeks special body to manage, protect Manila Bay
  • No Lenten break for QC thieves
  • Sports

  • ‘Pacquiao a great ambassador for basketball’
  • Asian cycling chief optimistic on Le Tour
  • Oh, Sang Mizuno Scramble champs
  • Palanca, Wong lead PGF Junior winners
  • SNS charity golf slated
  • Lifestyle

  • Levine designs womenswear with help from fiancee
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nobel laureate, dies at 87
  • Ford Mustang turns 50 atop Empire State Building
  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • Entertainment

  • Why ‘Noah’ can’t dock his ark at Philippine theaters
  • Acclaimed artist goes wild while on holiday
  • Believing in this mermaid
  • Missing Xian
  • Awarded TV couple brings Jesus’ life to the big screen
  • Business

  • Top-selling insurance agent opens her dream café
  • Connecting and transacting with one another
  • Building wealth for health
  • Why Mandaue Foam buys, rather than rents, space
  • A workplace of new possibilities
  • Technology

  • Nasa’s moon-orbiting robot crashes down
  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Opinion

  • Epiphany
  • Unpaid creditor vs distressed debtor
  • Moving on
  • From culinary desert to paradise
  • Response to China: ‘Usjaphil’
  • Global Nation

  • Cesar Chavez movie sparks memories of Fil-Am labor leaders
  • Filipinos in US poised for success
  • Visas for priests and other faith leaders
  • DOH to continue tracking co-passengers of OFW infected with MERS virus
  • 5 Filipinos with MERS in UAE reported in stable condition
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement