Quantcast
Home » byline You are browsing byline “Asuncion David Maramba” - Commentary

How will the CBCP handle this?

By

What good news! Last month I asked, “Will the Francis wave flow to our shores?” Now comes the Vatican instruction to “national bishops’ conferences around the world to conduct a wide-ranging poll of Catholics asking their opinions on Church teachings.” The Vatican said the instruction should be disseminated “immediately, as widely as possible, to deaneries and parishes so that input from local sources can be received.”

Posted: December 1st, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Will the Francis wave flow to our shores?

By

“A big heart open to God,” Pope Francis’ interview by Fr. Antonio Spadaro, SJ, for 16 Jesuit publications, released a wave of reactions worldwide, ecstatic over the appearance of a beachhead.

Posted: October 14th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Cafeteria Catholics are serious Catholics’

By

Friend Dita said that, and I repeat it because “cafeteria Catholics” who exercise a degree of selection as to what they will follow are said to do so for convenience or plain disobedience.   They have been around for a long time except that now, their presence is so widespread that we cannot just look [...]

Posted: September 15th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

High hopes for the laity, too?

By

Beyond the Francis-mania, do the laity making up 99 percent of the Church hope to become more than followers and assistants of the hierarchy? Or are they content with the status quo? In our country, the answer is “yes” and “no.”

Posted: August 22nd, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Refreshing papal style makes sense

By

Never in our lifetime has a Pope spoken like Francis. Human and candid: “I need to live among people and if I lived on my own, perhaps a little isolated, it wouldn’t do me good.” “[I] had come to Rome only with the necessary clothes, I washed them at night, and suddenly this….” Like you and me, he confessed to “dozing off while praying.”

Posted: July 14th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Three 3-hectare ‘farmers’

By

The youngest and most dynamic would have to be former senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, now doing a Francis of Assisi (i.e., going back to plants and animals, short of talking to them). His Sweet Spring Country Farm (SCF, Sharon Cuneta Farm, of course) rises 1,300 feet above sea level in the cool, windy and hilly upland of Alfonso, Cavite (Flores, Philippine Star, 5/19/13).

Posted: June 20th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Church no longer exempt from scrutiny

By

“WHY WOULD someone with the name Asuncion [a great feast of Mary] find time to pass judgement on the Catholic Church?” (reaction to “Spiritual but not religious,” Inquirer, 4/27/13). Once in a while I do get such rebukes, friendly and not so. A prelate once commended me for a column but remarked that “the institution can’t be destroyed; many have tried but failed.” But he got me right; it’s the institution that I twit, not the wonderful works of the people of God. Probably for my ears, a priest said that the Church “is like an elephant”—that is, big and indestructible.

Posted: May 19th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Spiritual but not religious’

By

I am picking up a phrase from Randy David’s column “Is the Catholic Church in crisis?” (Opinion, 4/14/13): “the transformation of religious practice from one that is Church-oriented to one that is solitary and private.” One such “transformation” is going on. It’s a current trend, especially among the young, expressed in the statement “I am [...]

Posted: April 25th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

What do you think of Pope Francis?

By

That’s today’s buzz. Both hope and speculation fuel the question. Hopes are high. “He’s strong on the ‘pastoral,’” says Fr. Edwin Manio, RCJ.

Posted: April 6th, 2013 in Columns,Featured Columns,Featured Headline,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘The dark-skinned child who loved to draw’

By

Sampaloc around UST (University of Santo Tomas) was the place to be right after Liberation. It was the first area to be liberated because of the concentration camp at UST where Americans caught in the war were held; the environs teemed with GIs, schools converted into hospitals, night spots for war-weary GIs and WACs, and army vehicles.

Posted: March 6th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Priests who know who is ‘Church’

By

Yes, Virginia, hundreds of priests know who is “Church.” It’s city folk and rural folk; it’s you and me, priests included, and bishops, too. It’s people, Virginia, Vatican II’s “people of God,” not ecclesial statements many of which, of late, are hardly edifying, not the church building under continual “beautification.”

Posted: January 28th, 2013 in Columnists,Columns,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

‘Toast to conscience’

By

“If I’m obliged to bring religion into after-dinner toasts …. I shall drink to conscience first, and to the Pope afterwards.” That’s by Blessed Cardinal John Henry Newman. It’s good that giants of the Church make such bold statements. They protect lesser mortals from being denounced when the latter think and say likewise.   Despite [...]

Posted: December 27th, 2012 in Columnists,Columns,Editor's Pick,Inquirer Opinion | Read More »

Advertisement

News

  • Lacson eyes P106-B ‘Yolanda’ rehab masterplan
  • What Went Before: Malacañang allies alleged involvement in pork scam
  • Timeline: Napoles tell-all
  • 12 senators on Napoles ‘pork’ list, says Lacson
  • Napoles surgery in Makati hospital successful
  • Sports

  • Mixers trim Aces; Painters repulse Bolts
  • Donaire junks Garcia as coach, taps father
  • ’Bye Ginebra: No heavy heart this time
  • UAAP board tackles new rules
  • Baguio climb to decide Le Tour de Filipinas
  • Lifestyle

  • The best flavors of summer in one bite, and more
  • Homemade yogurt, bread blended with pizza, even ramen
  • Visiting chefs from Denmark get creative with ‘ube,’ ‘ buko,’ ‘calamansi,’ mangoes
  • Salted baked potatoes
  • A first in a mall: Authentic Greek yogurt–made fresh in front of diners
  • Entertainment

  • Return of ‘Ibong Adarna’
  • Practical Phytos plans his future
  • In love … with acting
  • From prison to the peak of success
  • ‘Asedillo’ location thrives
  • Business

  • Cost-recovery provisions for affected gencos urged
  • This time, BIR goes after florists
  • Philippine Airlines to stop shipment of shark fins
  • PH banks not ready for Asean integration
  • Stocks down on profit-taking
  • Technology

  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Viber releases new design for iPhone, comes to Blackberry 10 for the first time
  • Engineers create a world of difference
  • Bam Aquino becomes Master Splinter’s son after Wiki hack
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 24, 2014
  • Talking to Janet
  • Respite
  • Bucket list
  • JPII in 1981: walking a tightrope
  • Global Nation

  • Filipinos in Middle East urged to get clearance before returning
  • PH seeks ‘clearer assurance’ from US
  • China and rivals sign naval pact to ease maritime tensions
  • What Went Before: Manila bus hostage crisis
  • Obama arrives in Tokyo, first stop of 4-nation tour
  • Marketplace
    Advertisement