Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Close  
opinion / Latest Opinion

ECC ruled on wrong issue

opinion / Latest Opinion
  • share this

ECC ruled on wrong issue

/ 12:10 AM November 10, 2016

I am Antonio M. Alcido, a former employee of Central Azucarera de Tarlac (1968-2002). In the course of my employment my lumbar spine was injured (HNP radiculopathy).

I was granted partial disability for 30 months (1999-2001 and 2003) pursuant to SSS and employment compensation laws. Left unpaid though were the benefits for the period February 2000-January 2001 (12 months).

I filed for partial disability with the SSS-Tarlac branch on Jan. 27, 2000. It was denied. On appeal, the Employment Compensation Commission (ECC) ruled that I did not qualify for permanent total disability. There definitely is a misjoinder of issues here: I was asking for partial disability, but the ECC decision was on permanent total disability.

ADVERTISEMENT

The ECC should change its decision and rule on my claim to partial disability covering the 12-month unpaid period (February 2000-January 2001), not permanent total disability.

Twelve years have passed and my claim is still unresolved. I am appealing to President Duterte for help and to direct the ECC to reinvestigate and reevaluate my partial disability claim at the soonest possible time.

ANTONIO M. ALCIDO,

San Miguel, Tarlac City

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: benefits, Employment Compensation Commission, partial disability, Social Security System, SSS
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.




© Copyright 1997-2016 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved