Kris-Crossing Mindanao

There is no Catholic vote?


The hypothesis, nay, the generally favored conclusion, is that there was no Catholic vote in the last elections. The point has been belabored in several commentaries.

But what are the facts based on the election results? On this question, mainstream media have been mute. If this is a deliberate response, we can only let the facts speak.

If there was no Catholic vote in the last elections, why did six senatorial candidates who were against the Reproductive Health Law make it to the winning circle of 12? How explain this fact if the Catholic vote did not exist? Constituting half of this circle of winning senators, six is certainly not a bad number.

If there was no Catholic vote, why, despite the hard push for the candidacy of Risa Hontiveros, did she lose in the last elections—and it was a worse beating than in her previous run for the Senate three years ago? If her pro-RH position truly stood on solid Catholic teaching, why didn’t Catholic voters shower her with votes? Isn’t it possible that Hontiveros was junked by voters who wanted to uphold their Catholic beliefs and thus, theirs may have also been an expression of the Catholic vote?

To insist that there was no Catholic vote only invites more questions than answers. In fact, when we look at the election results, the claim that there was no Catholic vote seems to collapse even more as a hypothesis.

Consider, for instance, the results in the congressional elections. In the period following the voting in both houses of Congress on the RH bill, it was often said that both the proponents and the opposers would rally their constituents to their side. How did it go?

Assuming there indeed was no Catholic vote, why were there many winners among those who were anti-RH? In fact, 55 of them won. Count with me as I enumerate who they are.

1. Roman Romulo (Pasig) 2. Benjamin Asilo (Manila) 3. Naida Angping (Manila) 4. Trisha Bonoan David (Manila) 5. Amado Bagatsing (Manila) 6. Toby Tiangco (Navotas) 7. Maximo Dalog (Mountain Province) 8. Imelda Marcos (Ilocos Norte) 9. Pol Bataoil (Pangasinan) 10. Gina de Venecia (Pangasinan) 11. Randolph Ting (Cagayan) 12. Dax Cua (Quirino) 13. Albert Garcia (Bataan) 14. Joseph Violago (Nueva Ecija) 15. Czarina Umali (Nueva Ecija) 16. Sonny Collantes (Batangas) 17. Mark Mendoza (Batangas) 18. Isidro Rodriguez Jr. (Rizal) 19. Lani Revilla (Cavite) 20. Karlo Nograles (Davao City) 21. Budoy Madrona (Romblon) 22. Antonio Alvarez (Palawan; last termer, but his son won)

23. Rufus Rodriguez (Cagayan de Oro) 24. Scott Lanete (Masbate) 25. Dato Arroyo (Camarines Sur) 26. Sal Fortuno (Camarines Sur) 27. Al Bichara (Albay) 28. Fernando Gonzales (Albay) 29. Cesar Sarmiento (Catanduanes) 30. Deogracias Ramos (Sorsogon) 31. Elmer Panotes (Camarines Norte) 32. Paolo Javier (Antique) 33. Arthur Robes 34. Arthur Yap (Bohol) 35. Benhur Salimbangon (Cebu) 36. George Arnaiz (Negros Oriental) 37. Henry Teves (Negros Oriental) 38. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez (Leyte) 39. Lucy Torres Gomez (Leyte) 40. Boying Cari (Leyte) 41. Emil Ong (Northern Samar) 42. Rosendo Labadlabad (Zamboanga del Norte) 43. Jorge Almonte (Misamis Occidental) 44. Robert Puno (Antipolo) 45. Romeo Acop (Antipolo) 46. Peter Unabia (Misamis Oriental) 47. Pedro Romualdo (Camiguin; he passed away during the campaign, his grandson XJ Romualdo replaced him and won) 48. Thelma Almario (Davao Oriental) 49. Pedro Acharon 50. Manny Pacquiao (Sarangani) 51. Francisco Matugas (Surigao del Norte) 52. Guillermo Romarate Jr. (Surigao del Norte) 53. Florencio Garay (Surigao del Sur) 54. Tina Plaza (Agusan del Sur) 55. Bebs Mellana (Agusan del Sur).

Please note as well that of the anti-RH representatives, only nine didn’t make it. Still that makes for an 86-percent winning rate for those who voted against the RH bill. Would that not make for a Catholic vote?

Of the party-list groups that voted against the bill, eight easily made it. Of course, the top vote-getter on the list is Buhay of the Catholic group El Shaddai. The rest are Ako Bicol, Ating Koop, An Waray, A Teacher, 1-Care, Abamin, and LPGMA. Abamin—Abante Mindanao—swept the Northern Mindanao provinces and cities.

If there is no Catholic vote, then what is this?

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

  • Sherwin Hilbay

    Mr Montalvan, are you high?!

    No, let me change my question. PDI, are you high? You’re letting this guy write a stupid, lame article like this? Shame on you.

  • AntonioPeYangIII

    Really, Catholic Church…

    Of all the brilliant minds you have in Ateneo, UST, and DLSU, you had to get the ONE guy who obviously doesn’t know math to talk about voter statistics?

  • akimaxx

    mr. montalvan, your statatistics are not finished yet. how many of these winning catholic officials are corrupt? how many of them are true servants of the people.

  • Eustaquio Joven

    Yes, there’s a catholic vote. How else did Riza and Mitos end up together under one category? Lol

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks

May 24, 2015

Feeling good

May 23, 2015

Tough guy