Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Close  
  • share this

P-Noy as Rambo and Inspector Javert

/ 08:49 PM January 14, 2013

The argument of President Aquino that a total gun ban will only favor society’s bad elements to the detriment of law-abiding citizens (Inquirer, 1/10/13) is a clear admission that bad elements abound in this country. It is the constitutional duty of the President of the Philippines, as commander in chief, to eliminate bad elements and maintain peace and order nationwide.

The more telling and realistic argument against total gun ban is the President’s Bangsamoro integration project. Our Muslim brothers will feel naked without their guns. In fact, the project allows the Bangsamoro to have its own independent police agency. This will legally allow our Muslim brothers to bear arms against the Republic and totally split our country into two: the Republic of the Philippines and the Bangsamoro.

By his anti-total gun ban argument, President Aquino admits that: (1) There are bad elements in our country which his administration cannot control; (2) the Republic can be split into two groups; and that (3) he is openly a gun enthusiast, just like Rambo. If President Aquino truly wants to be remembered by the people, he must: (1) Leave a legacy of peace and order by cleaning up the bad elements in the country instead of being an imbestigador and an Inspector Javert (from “Les Misérables”) hounding his political enemies; (2) uphold the integrity of our country as one, indivisible Republic; and (3) set an example as a peace-loving leader instead of a gun-toting and trigger-happy President.

ADVERTISEMENT

Otherwise, our country might follow the sad fate of Israel and Palestine, of Ireland and England, and of some Middle East countries such as Syria, Libya, Egypt, etc.

A good President should have a clear vision for his country.

—FRUCTUOSO SUZARA,

executive director,

Social Policy Advocacy,

15 Charleyville, White Plains, QC

ADVERTISEMENT
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Aquino, crimes, letters, total gun ban
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.
opinion

Forgotten footnote in PH-Japan ties

May 23, 2018 05:07 AM

sports

PBA All-Star show on

May 23, 2018 05:06 AM

opinion

The China card played 13 years ago

May 23, 2018 05:06 AM

opinion

May’s siesta and fiesta

May 23, 2018 05:05 AM



© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved